Home » Blogging » Two years it is

Two years it is

Yesterday I completed two years of blogging. It’s unbelievable to think how far I have come compared to where and when I started. This blog was just a medium for self-expression (something that I never believed in before I started blogging). And now its an integral part of my life. Kinda like my virtual life.

Sometimes I feel I am actually living a dual life. One where I meet people with flesh and blood, and the other where I meet people only through words and comments. If something substantial happens in real life, it has to be updated on the virtual life.

Often wonder how similar are these dual lives. Am I too different in real life? Very few people know both of me closely. But I never really bothered to figure that out. Doesn’t really matter. As long as both co-exist peacefully.

I wrote a post last year on my first blog birthday. I summarized what blogging was to me then. So I don’t want to do a similar post this time. Rather let me think of what really changed from last year? Just one thing I guess. Ibrahim :). He became a part of my life. Being a father, a parent, has been the single-most important, the biggest difference from last year. And I don’t think anything else can override this one ever.

Everyone ends up saying the same things on such posts – thank yous and sorrys and we go about raving about how blogging has changed our lives and how we made such great friends through blogs etc etc. I’ll not say all that. Its been said before. And I have nothing new to add.

So lets just keep doing what we do. And keep having fun. And keep blogging away to glory.

Lots of love.

46 thoughts on “Two years it is

  1. this virtual world apart from our space to be ourselves… has given us some wonderful people… some of whom have become great friends !!! may this silsila continue…

    Happy 2nd Blogging Birthday bro !!!!! :) :)

  2. finally a new post!!!!!
    :P

    oh congrats btw! u know i am hooked to ur blog, so i’d say, many many more yrs to come! :D

  3. Happy blogging bro… Congrats on the second anniversary… :-) and blogging is really an integral part of our life… :) how is Ibrahim? practising cricket ;)

    • Oh yes, Big time!!! :D I gave him a plastic bat the other day and he was waving it around like a tennis racket. So….now me getting other ideas a.k.a. Federer !!!! :D

  4. Congratulations Masood!!! Two years is a long time!!! But time flies here…. and now you talk about dual lives, and this morning I posted somewhere (Hitchie’s blog) that our blogs are a reflection of us – aren’t these our thoughts??

    • Thanks IHM. It sure is a long time and passed away in a jiffy.

      Yes, blogs are a reflection of us and our thoughts. So much so that the reflection has a life of its own. It defines us. We are what we post on our blogs. But blogs have become such an integral part that its difficult to differentiate whats real and whats virtual.

      Not complaining. I am absolutely loving this. But just a passing thought.

  5. 2 years! Congratulations Masood! I am yet to finish my 1st year and still it seems like ages.

    I guess the first time we ‘met’ was on a tag about kid. You commented and then I asked you to write about your child. Time sure flies.

    Dual lives…Actually as far as not meeting the person behind the posts (now even blog meets are happening) it is right but otherwise most of us are the same in real life too. Aren’t we? Many of my close friends and relatives read my blog and even if they didn’t, they would immediately know that Solilo is none other than….. Now I have my picture there but still the writing style, our personal anecdotes etc. gives away a lot about ourselves.

    I believe whether we write about our day to day life, our children, rants or even articles..it is all us. Our thoughts reflect in our writings.

    Wish you many more Blogoversaries. Happy 2nd! :)

    • Wow, you remember that? :)

      While composing this post, I was recalling the exact same thing. Till then, this blog was actually obscure, literally, as the blog name suggests. I commented on your first born tag and then you tagged me to do it. And the rest is history. That was my gate-pass to this blog samaaj.

      I agree. But sometimes I think we are a lot more sugar-coated on blogs and comments as compared to real life.

      And yes, what we write is a reflection of who we are. IHM said it perfectly above.

      Thanks, Sols :)

  6. Congratulations,Masood!2years of blogging…wonderful!
    Its a beautiful medium of merging your real life with virual one.

    may you have many more of such blog-b’days!!

    Keep sharing like the way you do,Masood :)

  7. 2 years! Wow! Congratulations Masood! That is amazing!

    May you have many such anniversaries! Here’s to a lot more blog-birthdays and a lot of posts from you :)

    Hugs and muahs to little Ibrahim!

  8. Congratulations Masood, 2yrs…well done!!!
    I will complete my 4yrs coming February and have really enjoyed the experiencing, although my readers are more of my family, friend and cousins, very few blogger friends so they really know me well when they are reading me and I have to make sure I match up my both lives hahaha so I only preach what I practice hahaha, can’t afford the luxury of dual life I guess :)

    Good Luck, tum jiyo hazaaro saal blog ke din ho pachaas hazaar :)

Leave a Reply

