Home » Ibrahim » You know you’re a dad when…

You know you’re a dad when…

You know you’re a dad when you put your baby to sleep and on seeing him sleep peacefully you wonder, “isn’t this the most satisfying feeling ever?”

You know you’re a dad when, while you play with your baby, you smile at him and he instantly chuckles back and says ‘aaghhuuu’.

You know you’re a dad when you rush to tuck him back at 3 am in the night so that his sleep does not get disturbed.

You know you’re a dad when you run to change his nappy ahead of your wife or mother-in law and look back to tell, “Don’t worry. I can handle it”, while they wait for you to freak out, are amazed on how you did it perfectly.

You know you’re a dad when you get the worst feeling ever because he threw up 2 times.

You know you’re a dad when you hold him up after a feed and walk around for more than an hour just so that he does not throw up again.

You know you’re a dad when your baby falls asleep on your chest and you don’t move one inch for as long as it takes so that he does not get disturbed.

You know you’re a dad when he pees on you while you were about to step out and you still say, ‘Comon, bring it on”.

You know you’re a dad when your baby farts and you turn to your wife and say, “Attaboy, that’s my son!”

You know you’re a dad when you spot your baby looking out the car window and you stop the car just to see him look curiously at the outside world.

You know you’re a dad when after you put your baby succesfully to sleep, you turn to your wife and proudly state that, “See, I put him to sleep. Did you see that? I did it”.

You know you’re a dad when you write a post on how you spent the last 3 days with your two and a half month old baby.

48 thoughts on “You know you’re a dad when…

  1. Masood! That was the sweetest ever!!!!! Brought tears to my eyes…

    Congratulations!! Looks like your son and wife have finally joined you!!! Have a wonderful time with your baby! I am so happy for you!

    • Smitha, they haven’t joined me yet 😦 I paid them a visit this weekend. There was some issues with my baby’s passport so had to sort that out. Hopefully they can join me in a couple of weeks now.

  2. No Smitha, he is just back from India… but insha allah, looks like wife’s gonna be here soon with the “attaboy”

    Masood, you know u are a dad when all think of is ur baby, his pees n farts n burps 😀 😀 and how to get him here real soon..

  3. ohh…. Masood I was just gonna congratulate you that they joined you in Dubai… !! just read the comments…

    Man you are so right…

    before I became a dad I used to sleep like Kumbhkaran !! no matter what noise I wouldnt wake up !

    But … even if he coughs a lil I immediately take notice !!

    Yes… cleaning his potty was an achievement !!

    and yes he spending a night alone without his mother was one of the day when I achieved maximum satisfaction !

    Wonderful post Masood ! most wonderful !!

    • Well, I’ll wait for your congratulations in about 2 weeks time.

      Life sure changes a lot. And all this just comes naturally. I did not make any conscious efforts for this but it just happens.

      Thanks Dhiren 🙂

  4. u knw u are a dad when u write such mushy post.. knowing the masood i knew and then reading such posts is such a attaboy feeling!!!

    • hehe…comon, I was never made of rock but also not the kind to be all mushy. All balanced me is 😉

      Thanks Iya. Hopefully they will be joining me in 2 weeks. That’s when it’s really gonna be ATTABOY!

  5. I have sent link of this post to my hubby …Just want him to be inspired and be ready in advance….

    I would luv watching him cleaning all poos and pees of baby 🙂

    Excellent post Masood….
    I m sure you will be best daddy for lil darling 🙂

  6. Thanks Rashmi. I hope I’m not setting some benchmarks but I have no doubts that your hubby will be an even better dad. We men eventually find our way! 😉

    My wife too enjoys seeing me do all that. Wonder why!

  7. Surely Masood, all of this and more – the joys of being a father… How even the most mundane things like changing his nappy seem to become the most important… How his farts and burps become the most pleasant sound to our ears…

    But trust me, they sure grow up fast, and How!

    As of now, enjoy it to the fullest as soon as they’re here.

    • Oh yes. It is by far the greatest feeling in the world. It looks like just yday that he was born and its been close to 3 months now. And as they grow old, they are quite a handful.

  8. You know you are a dad when you write a post about your two and a half month old baby, that warms the hearts of all your readers….

    LOVED this beautiful heart felt post.

  9. Mosood till date hearing about babies used to make women want to become mother . Reading post can make some guys feel “I too waana be a daddy”.

    You are true salesman daddy.

    Also your fearless expression of your feelings for ibrahim is gonna give other married guys with no kids so far,a hard time.

    So I give your post a HG only rating Husband guidance only ..lol.

    Jokes apart hope you soon get united with your kiddo and wife and enjoy fatherhood every day.

  10. Masood, You made me misty eyed and it is always nice to read such things from a Dad’s perspective.

    You know you are reading a doting Dad’s blog when he moves you to tears.

    BTW your updates are not showing up on my feeds so I missed your posts. I tried adding you again but it says ‘can’t detect a feed in your blog’. I don’t know if it is just for me.

    Good that I found this mention on Dhiren’s blog and hopped here otherwise would have missed such a touching post.

    • Thanks Solilo 🙂

      Not sure why you can’t see my feeds. It seems to working fine for others I think. Try again in a day or two. I had a similar problem with IHM’s feeds but that got sorted out by itself in a day.

  11. Hopped to ur blog from solilo’s.

    Wonderful the way u wrote abt being a dad,it brought tears in my eyes.

    So lucky ur boy to get a dad like u,touchwood.

    You know you’re a dad when, while you play with your baby, you smile at him and he instantly chuckles back and says ‘aaghhuuu’— Loved this

    Will come back again to read it:)

    • wsalaam bud. Thanks man. Inshallah your day will come too…more sooner than later. How about starting by getting married? 😉

  12. Pingback: How tempting and how impossible! « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

    • Thanks S.

      This is the best phase of my life. Even these words don’t do justice on how I really feel as a father 🙂

  13. Pingback: And the award goes to…. « Rambling of an idle mind…

  14. Pingback: AajPruned « Avant Garde Bloggies Awards

  15. Pingback: AajPruned « Avant Garde Bloggies Awards

  16. Pingback: Final Nominations in Avant Garde Bloggies Awards – 2009 « Visceral Observations

  17. Pingback: Avant Garde Bloggies Awards 2009: Finalists « Visceral Observations

  18. Pingback: Most Evocative Post on Parenting « Avant Garde Bloggies Awards

  19. This song will never apply for you I guess!! It’s called A Dad’s Song, created in response to TheMomSong, which is basically everything one hears a mom say all day long. TheDadSong was created when some dad’s demanded a song of what they say to their kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

