Home » Passion » Federer is back

Federer is back

And so am I.

If there was one and only one thing that could have brought me back to blogging, it just had to be Roger Federer! Thats how much I am passionate about the greatest champion in tennis history. That’s how fanatic an aficionado I am. To the extent that I did not watch the match just so that I don’t bring any bad luck to him!

Last night, he clinched his 14th career Grand Slam title, the French Open, and in the process has laid to rest any arguments whatsoever on who is the greatest player ever to pick up a tennis racket. He is.

Only 5 other men in history have managed to win all 4 Grand Slams in a career. He is now tied with Pete Sampras with the highest number of Grand Slam titles (14). The only man to reach 20 consecutive finals. He was the world number 1 for the highest number of weeks (247), highest career prize money ($48M+) ….

Federer holds virtually all possible records in Tennis. There hasn’t been a greater champion in history. And with the French Open title, he has immortalized himself.

And he is not just a great champion but a great human being. As gracious as he is on the court, he’s even better off it.

Married his girl friend of 9 years this April (someone he knew much before all the fame & success), lined up to be a dad in a few months, is not ashamed of crying in public (win or loose), always dressed appropriately (actually perfectly), is humble, humorous and courteous with the press and public alike, endorses the right products, is part of many humanitarian projects….I can go on and on..

Bottom line: A perfect champion. A perfect role model. And he is just 27.

That’s how old I am. Exactly as tall as me and weighs almost the same.

He is what I would have wanted myself to be. Somewhere between him and me, every time he wins, its a victory for me. If there was one person I would have wanted to emulate, it would be him.

To Roger Federer. The greatest ever.

Federer with the French Open trophy

Here are my other posts on Federer:

Tiger Woods & Roger Federer – What is their secret?

He’s back – Federer wins 5th US Open

Disappointing weekend

30 thoughts on “Federer is back

  1. welcome bak buddy !!!

    yes there was a flood of tears at Roland Garros yesterday… !!! finally he has it in his bag… !!!!!

    finally !!!!

    I always thought he would win it… but Nadal had become his bogeyman !!!!

    • Thanks dude.
      Yeah, finally the monkey is off his back. Now I expect a more determined Federer. With the burden of history not on him anymore, he should be back even better now.

  2. Good to see that you are back.
    Federer is now at par or way ahead of all records ever/. If only he could accomplish a true grand slam. I would be so happy!

    • Thanks Shilpa.
      Oh yes, he’s miles ahead of others. Only 1 more grand slam and he will be officially the greatest player in history. And Wimbledon is next – that’s his playground ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hey! First time here…no actually, first time commenting here ๐Ÿ™‚ Have read some of your earlier posts as well!

    Yes Federer is awesome!! The only reason I started loving tennis was HIM ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for dropping by, Saima. Good to see you here.

      So which b-school did you choose finally?

      Yes, I started following tennis religiously only after Federer started playing. It was almost like we were watching history in the making.

        • err…ok..sorry!

          A few weeks back, someone with the same name contacted me asking about my b-school etc. So…

          And I also remember visiting your blog around that time too. So I thought you were the same person!

          ๐Ÿ™‚ *a little embarrassed*

          • ha ha ha ๐Ÿ™‚ No worries!! I am relatively new to the blogging world ๐Ÿ˜€
            Nice to meet you ๐Ÿ˜€ *grin*

            By the way we have the same template on our blogs!! he he he ๐Ÿ™‚

            • yes, I noticed earlier that our templates are the same. so does this mean one of us has to change his/her template? ๐Ÿ˜‰

              • Don’t you look at me mister!! I ain’t doing anything ๐Ÿ™‚ I hate these complicated things!! And i hate the complications caused in my life thanks to WP….SO no thanks… You can do the honors ๐Ÿ˜‰

                BTW, why the hell do we have to change it…? Let our blogs be called Twins ๐Ÿ™‚

                • Really? You not happy with WP kya?
                  I was quite uncomfortable for a couple of weeks but its all good now.
                  Twins? Good idea ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I still hate it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ See everywhere i post a comment, one cannot open my blog from my name, it becomes un-click-able…I have no idea why!!!

    yipeee…now my blog also has a twin (just like me!!!) ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    • It becomes unclickable because when you post comments while you are logged in, your name does not contain your URL. So an easy way to counter this is to logout and leave comments. I do that always.

      Wow! Twin sister or brother?

  5. I tried this now ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ See for these precisely complicated reasons, i hate WP….

    Twin Sister…unlike me..in every possible way ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Hopped over from Solilo’s ๐Ÿ™‚ I am a huge federer fan, too. But I also believe that the federer-nadal rivalry is one of the best and greatest of our time. Would have been even more wonderful had he defeated nadal to win the French Open title.

    • Yes, I agree. What we are witnessing today is history in the making.But i am a real sucker when it comes to winning. so even though their rivalry is unlike any, i still want Fed to win all the way.

      Right now, all eyes on the Wimbledon. that’s the place where it all started for Federer. And no better place to win his record breaking 15th grandslam title. I’ve already ordered the champagne! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

