Home » Driving license » Of Driving and Cars

Of Driving and Cars

This post is inspired by Smitha last post. Long post as per my standards. So alert to whoever it matters! ๐Ÿ˜‰

My struggle to get a driving license in Dubai has been well documented. It took me 6 driving tests, 10 months & more than 12,000 bucks (approx USD 4000)! Infact there was a time, all my posts on this blog used to be about the driving license. And with my baby coming, I was getting too desperate. But ever since I got it last November, I’ve not spoken much about the post-license experience. And when Smitha did a post on drives, it got me charged.

Driving was always a passion for me. But somewhere deep down inside, I was scared of it too. Not scared of driving per se but because I’ve lost a few friends to road accidents, one of them a best friend.

So it was quite natural for me to get into this whole driving thing with some fears and/or apprehensions. But surviving in Dubai is impossible without a license. Eitherways, when I finally did take the wheel, it has been like second nature for me. Everything fell into place. As if it was meant to be. And luckily, I’ve driven some fantastic cars. Initially, I had my elder brother’s car in my hands coz he was on vacation. It was a Merc E230. I also drove my other brother’s car every now and then. He drives a Merc E240. Both are awesome machines. And then there’s my dad car which is a Nissan Tiida. But why so much emphasis on driving and cars? Well, my commute to work daily is 250 km!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I live in Abu Dhabi with my family while my work is in Dubai. Both are two different cities. Abu Dhabi is the capital of UAE while Dubai can be called the commercial capital. Distance between Abu Dhabi and Dubai is 150 KM. Luckily my work is in the outskirts of Dubai mainland commonly known as New Dubai now. So a round trip to work and back is exactly 250 km! My only respite is, though the distance is long, it takes around 1 hr 5 min to 1 hr 15 min depending on traffic conditions and driving speeds. But I still spend 2.5 hrs daily on the highway. Thats 1/12th of my life ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Oh well. So when finally it was time for me to purchase a car, it had to be one that could sustain this kind of grueling driving regime – long distances, high speeds! And thus came Audi in the picture. Medium sized car, fantastic pickup (0-60 < 3 sec & 0-100 < 5 sec!), stability on high speeds (I’ve hit 230 kph as well but highway cameras are programmed at 160 kph, so thats the standard driving speed), great music system and, last but not the least, style! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I got all these with my A6.

Overall, I’ve really enjoyed this post-license period. Love my time behind the wheel. Ofcourse get frustrated sometimes with the long hours. But I guess it does come with a few drawbacks. Wifey says I’ve become more aggressive and abusive on the road (I guess thats part of the package). It is also taking a toll on my lower back.

But, all in all, its been fun driving around. And looking forward to more (I’m already decided on my next car! ;))

24 thoughts on “Of Driving and Cars

  1. Wow! You commute 250 kms to work!!! That is one long drive! Yes, you certainly need a good car if you spend 1/12 of your life in it ๐Ÿ™‚

    You are seriously too much – already decided on your next car too ๐Ÿ™‚

    By they way, the audi is coming in today for the test drive. We have it till Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. OMG! 250 kms – is that what u said? But then, the time u take is what I used to take in Bengaluru for just 34 kms two-way ๐Ÿ˜›

    N u r already decided on the next one … Congrats!

    • haha…yes, thats correct!
      LOL
      blore traffic is famous for that. Lucky me that I lived 5 min away from work in blore. It was a blessing.
      Maybe thats why I should not complain about this commute now!

    • Well, I would love to own a E class but both my brothers drive E class. So I am more inclined towards BMW now. But lets see. Time will tell ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Go for BMW ๐Ÿ™‚ We are most probably going to go for it:) Will let you know after test driving the BMW ๐Ÿ™‚ Right now – Merc is on the top.. The experience was better – Merc vrs Audi..

        • hehe…lets see. Still a long time before that day comes.

          Merc leading the race. Good good. Wait till BMW joins in! Give that Audi in my hands and then see what I can with it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I heard it is very difficult to get a licence in abudhabi.I got my licence in the 3rd attempt.I used to get frustrated when i failed 2 test and knowing that i have not done a mistake but atlast i got it 3 years back.But didn’t get chance to drive with the babies,now that they have grown little will start driving.

    OMG u daily commute from adh to dxb ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Sometimes it may be boring also to drive alone.

    • Yes, but auh is relatively easier as compared to dxb. But with so many people relocating due to the recession, i hear things have improved in Dubai. There was a time when i was appearing for tests, they used to pass 10 out of 150 applicants daily! Thats less than 10% pass percentage.

      yes, I commute daily. It can get quite boring. Sometimes I feel really sleepy and thats the time I turn up the radio or call my wife! ๐Ÿ™‚ Its OK coz I normally enjoy driving.

  4. 250 kms!! Are you kidding me!! Y dont u shift nearer to work place!! I drive 60 kms everyday n by the time m home, I am literally dead!!!! Hats off to you!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Will drop by again tomorrow, to read rest of the posts!!

    you are not my blog twin anymore x-( not fair ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

