Home » Blogging » Weekend is early this week

Weekend is early this week

Yes, it’s only Thursday and I am already into weekend mode. Why? Because my boss is only leave today and tomorrow!!! πŸ˜€

Ain’t it cool?

Infact we’ve been celebrating since yesterday. As a matter of fact, my weekend started yesterday.

Before y’all rush to conclusions about my boss, she’s actually pretty cool (read: pretty & cool). Doesn’t give us too much shit but, in principle, I think all sales managers are a pain. Plus, we have our weekly sales reviews on Thursdays, where I have to come up with new stories (and dramas and excuses and grammar) each week for not being able to close some deals. And I’ve gotten good at it now. For 5 weeks straight, I was able to give 5 different excuses on 9 deals that I am tracking for this quarter! πŸ˜‰ For the record, I did close one of ’em.

Point is, none of that happens today. I can do my stuff and not worry about what my next alibiΒ  is going to be. That’s priceless.

Another thing made my day. A colleague (and friend and husband of fellow blogger Tara) came to me this morning informing me that he made uppam & chicken stew last night for dinner. He hunted for the recipe on Google. Guess what was on top of the search results?

My blog πŸ™‚

Not sure why coz I have no freaking idea about the recipe. Apparently, there was some mention of uppam stew in some comments. There you go!

I’m telling ya, internet is a very small place.

44 thoughts on “Weekend is early this week

  1. Me feeling J of u nw 😦 And its this week that we hv extra load of work out here :grrrr

    ‘read: pretty & cool’ LOL πŸ˜†

    5 weeks straight, 5 diff excuses,9 deals – yay!

    N congrats on ur blog being @ the top of search results – Crazy small place πŸ˜‰

  2. Happy long weekend πŸ™‚ Lovely are such unexpected ‘weekends’, aren’t they πŸ™‚

    So you’ve got a pretty and cool boss πŸ™‚ And yet you want a holiday!!!!

    Appam stew! I have to make some now! Haven’t had it ages! Good that you reminded me πŸ™‚

  3. 3 comments already ??? everyone has become super fast… and no one thanks me and crafty enough….

    sigh…

    No boss is great…

    btw did they share the food or just the news ??????

    • Comon, you both are the pioneers.

      plus crafty is out of action now. you have to fill the space for her now…you should be double fast dhiren…

      He brought it to office today and I had a small bite. It was good πŸ˜€

  4. Happy weekend,your kid will keep you busy for 2 days now πŸ™‚

    Hmmmm appam and chicken stew great combo, now i wanna make this, oppps i am on dieting 😦

  5. hmmm long weekends always sounds good, have a great one.

    hey btw while browsing your blog I came across your full name is Masood Salem, prepare yourself for this – even my dads name is Masood bin Salem πŸ™‚ what a coincidence yah…

    • wow…guess what? my grand father’s name is Masood Bin Salem…

      what a coincidence!!!! Where are you from? I hope we don’t end up having the same family lineage! πŸ˜€

  6. thank god someone posted something πŸ˜› with twitter nobody seem to have anything to write here πŸ˜›
    I thought u guys hv grt time even while she is in office :D.. anyways enjoy the early break and just keep fingers crossed for someone isnt reading these blogs.. (waisey who know ;))

    i dint know abt ur blog coming first in the search for ‘uppam’ but thanks for the nice words.. just the cleaning of kitchen took me extra hour today as by-product of getting a yumm dinner.. overflowing sink and a scattered kitchen.. huh!! πŸ˜€

    • trade-offs tara ji….

      you get to watch as much of desperate housewives as you wish…you get dinner ready….so 1 hour of cleaning scattered kitchen is ok i guess…. πŸ˜‰

  7. Gosh this is really funny! No doubt about the internet being a very small place πŸ™‚ :LOL:

    And not worrying about what excuses you are going to come up with is priceless indeed πŸ™‚
    it’s great to be back here ….

  8. So how did the weekend go,Masood?? With me too its the same case..I get into my weekend shoes much in advance on thursday evenings itself πŸ˜€

    • Weekend was pretty good. Had a few things planned with my family n stuff. And guess what?

      I’ve just learned that my boss is taking this Wednesday and Thursday off as well.

      Weekend is early again this week!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

  9. arre, i have sprouted here after the second weekend is also over πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    how were both weekends masood???

    u r pro in excuses? i will seek u for assistance then, eh?

    acchha…so one more deal closed! congrats! and let me repeat…r u gonna share some profits…for charitable purpose? Charity towards HItchy n Crafty’s Manali retirement home??? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

    appam n chicken stew! wah! πŸ˜€ u have some yummy discussion happeing!!!
    i will have appam…..u have stew…me to be vegetarian…

    yeah, internet is a very small place…and may i say, cozy n warm place too!
    πŸ˜€

    hugs!!

    • Crafty! welcome back…just don’t go away again!!

      Weekends were fantastic. My latest posts will tell you why! πŸ˜‰

      Sure. Ever close to missing your deadlines – just ask me. I’ll come up with a suitable, absolutely believable alibi. Not just the ‘dog ate my homework’ jig.

      Veggie? Koi nai…lets have veg stew!

      πŸ™‚

  10. Is it appam or uppam ??? Is it the steamed fluffy rice dosa, right ??? Oh! I love it and what a deadly combo – with chicken stew. WOW !!! Now, I want to eat it.

    My hubby too a sales guy. I know abt all those nataks. Anyway, gud for you, you atleast hv a gud looking boss !!!! Imagine those ppl, who hv senior citizens as boss.

    BTW, my daughter told me, sometime back, Mom, when I searched ur name, it took me to ur blog and she was so thrilled abt it. The feeling is really gud !!

    • Yeah, I guess it can be spelled as ‘Appam’ as well. I remember seeing it with a ‘u’ on the menu in different places.

      Oh yes…exactly…those fluffy dosas…yummmm!!!! Out here in Dubai, we do get it but its nowhere close to what is tastes in India…specially in blore.

      Good looking and quite fashionable I must add. One day it is Gucci, then Prada or Chanel or LV…doesn’t end…

      Wow. Cool. Kinda feels that we have our own identity on this small ‘big’ web.

Leave a Reply

