Home » Ibrahim » First words?

First words?

Since the day my kiddo was born, I’ve been wondering how he would sound when he speaks. I think I may have just found out πŸ™‚

Over the weekend, he spoke his first words. Or atleast that’s what I would like to believe.

Here’s what he said:

“Mum ma ma ma ma mum ma ma maa…”

And you know what’s the best part? He keeps saying that when he sees his mom or wants a feed or wants to be picked up or played with.

That’s not all. He also says something when he sees me or when he wants me to pick him up. He says:

“Ba ba ba ba ba baba ba…”

Did you see that? He’s already calling me baba (‘Baba’ means father in many languages. Well, that’s not exactly what I want him to call me but what the heck. I’ll take it anyways)

And its not like he’s confusing one to the other.

This time no baby language translations. This is for real. I think he has started calling out to his parents.

Man, I could just keep listening to him go on and on and on….

His ‘mummas’ & ‘babas’ is the best thing I’ve heard ever. Almost too good to be true.

My little baby is growing up πŸ™‚ *touchwood*

Updated to add: My boss is on leave from tomorrow for the rest of this week!!!!! Weekend is early again πŸ˜‰

58 thoughts on “First words?

  1. πŸ™‚ dont you feel like fighting for ‘work form home’ sometimes? i wouldnt want to miss a single moment of being around such a growing cutiepie.. touch wood indeed..

    • Oh yes. Sometimes it is just so difficult to leave home and come to work. And his waking time each morning is between 8.30 – 9 am, which is the time I normally leave..

      Iram makes sure that I dont miss a single moment or expression. If he says something new, she immediately calls me so that I can hear it or records it or takes enough pictures. She’s a darling πŸ™‚

  2. Yes little baby is growing πŸ™‚

    Record all that masood and make him hear when he grows,they just love it πŸ™‚

    Kids first they will say mamma and then dada but my daughter said first dada and then mamma

    • *Touchwood*

      Yes, so far luckily we’ve been able to keep every record of his words, expressions etc. Infact I’ve actually decided to buy replace my camera with a new one with more features just for that.

      Yeah, wonder why they say mamma first. As if dads are not worthy enough! :p

  3. awwww that is so sweet baba πŸ™‚

    their words are like honey to the ears makes one forget all the tensions in the world

    touchwood πŸ™‚ bless him

  4. ahh touchwood..many more to come. needless to say, please record it..

    and what the heck its monday and u talk about weekend..humph!!

    • haha oh yes. we just started cerelac or other alternate foods for him…. and nappy changes have taken a whole new dimension now!!!!

      but its all fun. exciting times. πŸ™‚

  5. This is one of the most exciting time when the child is growing.You will see a change in his behaviour so very often that you will have to make notes of the dates on which he took which step.
    All the best

  6. Ibbu is already going goo goo ga ga. They grow up really fast, Masood. Every milestone is important. Every day is important. Oh! I miss them all but I love this stage too when they are a chatterbox and embarrass us with their honesty.

    Soon Ibbu will chirp chirp. Baba..so cute. Proud Baba beaming.

    My daughter’s first words were ‘A..thaaa…’. she said ‘Acha’ first which means Dad.

    • I know and that’s scaring the living daylights out of me. I can’t get enough of him now and they already outgrow it. I think parents have a tough time dealing with kids growing up too soon. Infact some cute things that he used to do a couple of months back have become history now. We wait for him to do those things now but..!!

      πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Oh yes, beaming, ear to ear! πŸ˜€

      hehe…Peanut said dad first? πŸ™‚ How did that feel, peanut’s mom? πŸ˜‰

      just wondering…common for boys to say mamma first and girls to say papa?

      • I said ‘Pa..pa’ first. So can’t complain. πŸ˜€

        I want Peanut to have a strong bond with her Dad just like my father and me. So I love it. I pretend to be miffed when she chooses her Dad over me but secretly I love it because it just reminds me of my childhood. I was always my Papa’s daughter and I still am.

        • I guess all daughters have that kind of relationship with their dads, don’t they? I can almost imagine myself pampering my little girl forever. I don’t think i can do that with Ibrahim. Not coz he doesn’t deserve it or anything else..i actually dont know why. But when my little girl is born (and Inshallah I hope that day comes soon), its gonna be very different πŸ™‚

          Am sure Peanut will share the same bond with her dad as you did with your dad. It is a very special relationship. Every father & daughter deserve that πŸ™‚

  7. I agree Masood, the first words they speak are the most beautiful… and then they never stop πŸ˜› Check out my son’s videos – http://hayaa-yuvaan.blogspot.com See how much he’s learnt talking and he already is full of words…

    PS. Bosses are like clouds – the Sun suddenly shines brighter when they are away. Mine is off for 3 weeks and is not coming back for another 2 weeks… πŸ™‚

  8. Proud beaming father, is all I see, when I read the blog. Gud luck, for more new words by Ibrahim !!!

    BTW, hv u seen the Ad in which the dad asks the baby to tell banana and finally czechoslovakia ???? I love the ad – it describes so aptly how the father wants his child to learn and talk fast. Even though it is not a reality, I love the way, the ad has been taken.

    • Yes, new words and hopefully, and I pray, that he doesn’t start swearing..just yet! πŸ˜‰

      LOL. That’s an awesome ad. Infact just last evening, when my kiddo was uttering some stuff non-stop, my elder bro took him into his arms and said…”acha beta…bahut baba baba mamma mamma hogaya….ab yeh bolo….czechoslovakia !!!!

      we all burst out laughing…and the poor baby got scared and started crying…!!! LOL

  9. Mabrook Masood, how cute is that….its the best time of life for parents and the little won one, amazing feeling that totally introduces you to totally different emotions and its awesome, I remember reading this quote somewhere….It was the tiniest thing I ever decided to put my whole life into….how true ya….

    Enjoy, its the best time of life where you can play with your kid while talking to your wife hahaha

    • Yes, Mashallah he’s really picking up stuff. Initially I thought he would keep saying that to everyone..but he just says baba mamma to us. It is adorable!

      I know. Time really flies 😦 Capturing each moment now on camera…later on..that’s all what we’ll have.

  10. Awww..thats so sweet.Ibrahim is so adorable.Namnam’s first word too was ‘Amma’ and the minute she said it R called me,caught hold of the handycam and captured the moment.And each time I responded to her by saying ‘haan,yes,yes sweety’ she went on an on with ‘amma’ amma’ mama’…oh,what a moment that was!

    I can understand what you and your wife must be going through now.Just savour these moments Masood.They will just fly past in no time!

    May God bless Ibrahim πŸ™‚

    • ….wow. Its unbelievable, innit? Everytime he calls out now…I leave everything and respond to him. Kids have that power over their parents I guess.

      And I know, time really flies. Scares me 😦

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  11. what a blessed and precious moment these are..when kido speaks or says something in their language..
    Angel also has different expression for each demand..like when she is hungary..diff face..when she want to sleep..a diff form of crying….

    And i m always ready with camera kind of mom… πŸ™‚

    god bless lil one !!

    Cheers πŸ™‚

    • Yes, and you’ll start seeing more of all that very soon. Right now, cherish each moment with her like never before. I still miss those cute expressions they make…during the first couple of months…later on, all that changes…yet we keep waiting and missing them…

      haha..my wife is like that. she has a camera ready for all moments. that way i dont miss anything. love her for that πŸ™‚

      Thanks πŸ™‚

  12. Hey..I know how that feels…. πŸ™‚ I dont have a daughter but experienced the same wid my niece ….hereonwards all that she would utter would be exciting…and cute!!

  13. again i appear after weekend is over πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    late as always crafty

    alle alle masood!!!!! that is so cute!
    hugs n cuddles n muahs to the little prince! he’s begining to talk!!!
    MUAHS!!!!!

    touchwood!!!!!! i still remember his snap u had put up, wrapped in towel after a bath!
    the angel!!!

    kala tikka!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! nazar na lage

    hugs to u both mommy n daddy too!!!!!!

    • haha….

      late but only to my blog…:( every where else your heading the charts!!!

      yep, he’s yapping away to glory now…in his own baby language…

      oh yes..that pic was amazing *touchwood*

  14. Congratulations! I can imagine how you must be feeling! It is wonderful, isn’t it when they start talking! My daughter’s first word was ‘Daddy’ and she insisted on calling me Daddy as well 😦 until she turned 2!!! It used to infuriate me so much! She would totally ignore me when I would ask her to call me Amma! And it was not as if she could not – she just wouldn’t! Then suddenly she had a change of heart 2 weeks before her 2nd birthday and started calling me Amma πŸ™‚

    Hugs to little Ibrahim! He is certainly on the right track πŸ™‚

    • LOL

      Daddy must be beaming ear to ear then? And I can imagine the taunts coming your way from him… πŸ˜€

      So she gave you a present on her 2nd bday by calling you Amma! πŸ™‚

  15. cute cute cute is the only word I can come up with right now:)

    Please do record his voice and do make a video too if possible:) would love to see it:)
    have already seen Rakesh’s cutie pie of a son’s πŸ˜€

    Like Sol’s says I too said pa-pa first so can totally understand Ibrahim’s ba-ba:)

    muahs for lil Ibrahim:)

    you must have turned into a shutterbug by now πŸ˜€

    • πŸ™‚

      Yeah, I’ve taken some amazing videos of him already. Will post some soon.

      LOL @ shutterbug – Guess what? I heard that word for the first time..but I’m 100% that now πŸ™‚

  16. And I missed this? I don’t believe it!
    Many hugs and cuddles and kissies to our little angel. And may he grow up to be the talkative and active brat that you two secretly fear. LOL…
    Mwaaahhh to Ibrahim!

Leave a Reply

