Home » Lyrics » Jab zero diya Bharat ne

Jab zero diya Bharat ne

Jab zero diya Bharat ne, duniya ko tabh gintee aayi,

(When India invented zero, the world learnt to count)

Taaron ki bhaasha Bharat ne, duniya ko pehle sikhayi

(India thought the world the language of Astronomy)

Deta na dashamal Bharat toh, yun chaand pe jaana mushkil tha

(Had India not given the decimal, going to the moon wouldn’t have been easy)

Dharti aur chaand ki duri ka, andaza lagana mushkil tha

(Distance between Earth and Moon would not have been easy to guess)

Sabhyata jahan pehle aayi, pehle janmi hai jahan pe kala

(Culture was here first, and so was art)

Apna Bharat woh Bharat hai jiske peeche sansaar chale

(Our India is the India, which the world follows)

Sansaar chala aur aage badha, yun aage bhada aur bandhta he gaya

(World kept moving forward and kept prospering)

Bhagwaan kare yeh aur badhe, bhadhta he rahe aur fule fale.

(And if God wills, keep prospering and keep growing)

Happy Independence Day. Jai Hind.

p.s. These lyrics are from the movie “Purab aur Paschim”. A 1970 movie produced and directed by our own Manoj Kumar, famously known as ‘Bharat’ Kumar.ย  This song was sung by Manoj Kumar on being told that India is nothing but zero. The playback singer is Mahendra Kapoor.

55 thoughts on “Jab zero diya Bharat ne

  1. what a beautiful dedication! yeah i remember that movie and that song too, the scene…. and one other silly detail….those tables were revolving na, where manoj kumar and the rest were sitting? revolving tables… ๐Ÿ˜€

    the lyrics are awesome na? i loved them…..

    Happy Independence Day Masood!!! hugs!

    • oh my god crafty u know i always remember those revolving table when i think of this songs

      hugs soul sista

      i think its because they were a big thing at those times not seen at all otherwise

    • Yes, that was the first thing I noticed when I saw this song…the revolving tables…and I can only imagine the frenzy it must have caused back in 1970!!!!! But just curious, whoever ate on those things? I mean…I would feel dizzy and fall off within a few mins. For me, food is like worship. I hate disturbances!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Absolutely. Brilliant lyrics. I saw the song on TV..ran to pick up my laptap and typed it down and posted.

      Same to you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Saritha. And same to you ๐Ÿ™‚

      As an independence day present, you can gift me some of those perfumes!

      Do you want me to send a list across? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • But guess what? I didn’t know this piece existed till it saw it on TV the other day ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I always thought there is only the other portion “bharat ka rehna wala hun bharat ki baat sunata hun”

  2. oh yes this and so many more manoj kumar has indeed given us some brilliant patriotic movies and songs before he lost it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Happy Independence Day to all, being away from homeland for more than a decade my all time fav Patriotic Song remains to be:

    Ai mere pyaare vatan, ai mere bichhde chaman
    tujh pe dil qurbaan
    tu hi meri aarzoo, tu hi meri aabroo
    tu hi meri jaan

    • oh yes…and come to think of it, i didn’t know that the zero portion of this song even existing….i always sang only the ‘hai preet yahan ki raat sada’ part….

  4. Masood, I am really late here. It was a hectic weekend and now days are too but am back.

    Happy Independence Day! What did you guys do?

    BTW I watched Love Aaj Kal and loved it. Yes! the romantic me loves all such mush-mush stuff. You were right about twist..it was not good. Ajj din chadeya was picturized really well.

    • haha…busy weekend watching LAK?? Yep, and I liked Aahun Aahun in the end…

      We didn’t do anything special on Independence Day. Spent some time in front of the TV watching desh bakhti movies….all radio channels played patriotic songs…felt all patriotic….so without doing anything in particular I think I did my part ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Its a lovely song and make us all proud – by what all we have given to this world.

    But its an irony that haldi is being patented in the US for its disinfectant qualities. Even, Aloe vera for its healing qualities !!!

    So, sometimes, it is not enough when we discover, invent wonderful things. We have to mark it as ours and we should give credit to those Indians who have been greatly instrumental in that.

    Anyway, Happy Independence Day to all the Indians around the globe !!! And to you, Masood – Sorry for the belated wishes.

    • Absolutely.

      Haldi is being patented by US? Btw, did we invent it? Dont look at me like that…I don’t know…so just asking !!

      Same to you.. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Of course, haldi is from India. It is there in Ayurveda and was used variedly in so many treatments.

        BTW, Just read a news item in TOI – Chicken Tikka Masala is a Spanish Dish and one person is pressing the European Union to make the dish as a native of Spain. See – what all is happenning ???

        • Oh gosh…chicken tikka masala a spanish dish????

          Then lets call Pizza or Pasta or whatever is a spanish native dish as ours!!!!!

          I think we make it better than them anyways..with all the indian spices and modifications! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Happy Independence Day !!!

    gr8 song…i like this movie a lot and saw it many times…

    Also the scene in “Namaste london ” when akshay says…if u want to know more abt india ..go and watch purab pashchim…was best ๐Ÿ™‚

    and haldi is being patented by US – News for me too ๐Ÿ™‚ ..Ah my GK is so poor !!

    • Yes, I remember that scene in Namaste London. I often used to wonder what is so special about Purab aur Paschim but when I saw the movie on tv that day, I realized why it is considered a classic.

      yeah..:( me also didn’t know !

Leave a Reply

