Home » Blogging » On Federer, blog break and responsible media

On Federer, blog break and responsible media

I usually don’t post the day after Federer looses. My last comeback post was after he captured the French Open crown. Last night, he lost his US Open title to an inspired Del Potro. Good game though. Fed had the momentum up until late into the 2nd set and looked on course to capture his 6th consecutive title but Del Potro had other plans. All in all, it was an entertaining final. Quite refreshing to see some young blood make the legends run after their money.

Anyways, so if it was not a Federer victory that inspired this comeback post then what was? Well, first things first, for the uninitiated, I was on a self-imposed blog break. Just needed some time off from stuff to get things back on track. Took a week off from work and spent the time at home with my family. Nothing like some good ‘ol family time. Also, needed to get my mind off work. Moreover, with the Ramadan fasts going on, it was quite challenging to keep work and all other responsibilities cued together.

A big big big thank you to everyone for all the kind and encouraging words via comments, emails, sms and calls. Though I did not reply to most comments, I did keep visiting the comment space to see what y’all been saying and read it over and over again. I am overwhelmed and thankful to be part of this wonderful blog-samaaj.

Well, what really got me to write this post is actually the brilliant ads been aired on TV these days. Not sure how many of you saw the latest ad by the ‘jaago re’ campaign team – ‘Khilana Bandh pilana Shuru’. Fantastic social message against one of the biggest problems faced by India today – Corruption. Such a simple way to convey a message so strong and so relevant. And what more, it is lead by youth. Common scenarios such as traffic violations, in govt offices, in trains with the TT, in religious places, by politicians, in education institutions etc.

I confess I have been a contributor to this all my life. I have opted for the easy way than the right way. But not anymore. I hope India opens its eyes to such fantastic social messages.

Heres the video of the Khilana Bandh Pilana Shuru ad:

Other super marketing campaigns are the ones aired by Hindustan Times. I’ve seen a few and loved each one of them. The basic idea behind them are on responsible news reporting. I can’t seem to find them on youtube. But will post the videos once they are uploaded.

Great to be back. And now I have a Google reader about to explode with unread posts.

68 thoughts on “On Federer, blog break and responsible media

  1. Welcome back Masood !!!! a break always helps !! eh !!!

    the ad of jago re is fantastic.. simple powerful eh… I pledge not to bribe… though I did that a lil earlier thanks to smita’s post !!

    and the hindustan times ad’s are sooooooper !!!! πŸ˜€

    I loved them….

    I am a Federer fan too… but I dont mind him losing strangely this time… somehow i love the youngsters… just like you said… giving the legends a run for their money…

    augurs well for the sport !!!!

    • yep. break was exactly what i needed.

      actually what was really refreshing about Fed loosing was that he lost to someone other than Nadal. that’s actually really good for tennis. one freak 20 yr old defeating both nadal and federer in a grandslam…that is something!

  2. I am a Fedrer fan as well.. but, I am repeating myself when I say that I am kind of glad that he lost. New talent is always thrilling to watch!

    The ads are superb!

    I promise too, as much as possible not to offer bribe! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Good to have you back!

    • Exactly. Some new refreshing talent who plays tennis is carefree way. some shots that Del Potro pulled off were just amazing. even Fed didn’t have an answer to that.

      And yes, those ads are so bloody good.

      Great to be back πŸ™‚

  3. Great to have you back πŸ™‚ Yes the Jaago re ad is definitely something. They have a history of coming out with some wonderful ads like the one that was aired during elections.
    Welcome back πŸ™‚

    • Haan..they started with the Election ad and now this one…this is responsible media. ofcourse we need some crazy stuff too to keep us entertained but once in a while…some serious media is also needed.

      Thanks Saima.

  4. welcome back bro πŸ™‚ great to see you back…
    I am a fan of Fed’s game but dont mind if he loses to a good player…
    and I didnt see that ad campaign and not able to see from my mobile now 😦

    • Thanks Bro πŸ™‚

      Me too. I hate it when he looses to Nadal but this Del Potro dude was awesome.

      Do check out those ads if you can. Even the hindustan times ones are super.

  5. welcome back massod… hope u are feeling good now

    and i am no good in sports so will give that a skip

    i like the whole jaago re campaign, i am also guilty of doing it sometime in my life but from past 4 yrs or so we have decided a big no to it… i guess the change has to start from us…

    another social ad that is brilliant is bell bajao

    • Thanks Mon. Feeling great and am glad to be back πŸ™‚

      Oh yes…that bell bajao ads are also fantastic. Wonder how I missed mentioning that here.

      4 yrs without bribing in India..now that is something!!!

      Here in dubai, we cannot bribe even if we want to. Atleast not at smaller levels. I am sure things do happen at much higher and larger levels.

    • LOL
      ya right!!!
      Anyways, I think I’ll have more time to blog..now that Ramadan is over and we are back to full working hours…
      So stay tight and fasten your seat belt πŸ™‚

  6. Hey !!! Gud to see u blogging again !!!! πŸ™‚

    We missed Ibrahim (you, too) !!!! Whats he upto ??? Anything new ????

    Sad abt Federer’s loss – but thats how sports has always been, right ???? There’s always a better person than the present champion.

    Jagore ads are too gud. I do love them..

    Write something abt Ibrahim, pl… πŸ˜†

        • Well, it was the end of Ramadan and then Eid. Usually busy time with relatives and friends flocking in at home. So could not find time to blog. Plus was not keeping well.

          But me back now. Eid was really good. First Eid with Ibrahim so it was quite unique. And yes, got to spend some refreshing time with family! πŸ™‚

  7. Glad to hv u bk πŸ˜› I missed some competition in the first first race πŸ˜‰

    I am a pakka Nadal fan but what made me happy ws the new talent! Someone to break the routine! Del Potro played amazingly well n beat both Nadal n Federer! Clijsters ws gr8 too!

    N nw, get bk to the comment spaces too πŸ˜› They hv been missing u esp. legs being pulled πŸ˜›

    • Thanks. Yes, I see a lot has changed in the 1st race. IHM is giving tough competition to everyone….

      Great to be back πŸ™‚

  8. Good to see you back.
    I am not of much of Tennis fan,hence can’t comment even though you sound quite emotional.
    In the recent past,the best Ad I have seen is the Jagte Raho,about corruption.I hope to see more of such Ads .

  9. Welcome back. See we are so addictive, you better not keep away for long πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰
    It was fun , what with US open n Cricket. n now its all over . Boo!

  10. EID Mubarak to u and ur family Masood!! and great to see u back!!!
    ((((((((hugs)))))))

    sigh! tennis? sports?

    sports + crafty = lost world of no return….

    i love the jaago re ads! quite impactful!!!!

    hope all’s well now, getting better! tc!!!! hugs!!!

  11. I loved that ad too!! I looked for” It’s time to stop being cynical’ (Hindustan Times ad) but couldn’t find, delighted to know somebody else thought so too!!!

    The other one is a powerful message too!! We really need these campaigns, they make a difference if they don’t wake you up they do shake you! I agree with you that the idea of inspiring the youth is a very good one. This generation must grow up hearing about the possibility of ending corruption not about ‘we are like this only’

    • Yes, infact I’ve heard some rave reviews of that ad from a lot of people. Its getting really popular. Just a matter of time before I turns up on youtube!

      Exactly! Invoking the youth probably the optimal way forward.

  12. About Federer, I can only say I understand how you feel, when I saw my husband and Son watching them, I asked if the guy who always cries won or lost, I think it’s really sweet that he is so open about the way he feels, and he gets unlimited affection of his fans who are probably feeling like crying too.

    • Well a lot of people criticize him on crying in public. I don’t see whats wrong with that. I mean…the guy is the greatest tennis player in history and yet every championship victory invokes emotions out of him. I think it is this passion that makes him go on for more. Or else, what else does he need to achieve? What else could be his motivation? Just because he is so passionate and emotional about the game that he longs for more.

      That’s an admirable quality. And also not being ashamed of crying. That’s a retro-male for you πŸ™‚

    • I wonder why that’s happening. A few other people are also complaining of loosing comments….

      Oh wow…I didn’t know about this zero currency thing. Its a brilliant initiative.

    • I actually did it today itself. Just go to ‘Widgets’. You’ll find a tag there for ‘Recent Posts’. Just drag it to your task bar. You have to select how many recent posts you wish to see. Save and close. That’s it πŸ™‚

  13. no no not this one…I m asking in ur blog under blog..it shows recent post of everybody under their name….like under my name..its showing my latest post – these husbands na…..

    I think this setting is there from begining

    • aah that one…well yes, this is there from the starting. It is quite simple but will take some time to set up.

      Go to ‘Widgets’
      You’ll find a tab saying ‘RSS’
      Add it to your side bar.
      And then enter the RSS feed url of that blog. (Eg. For my blog, you need to mention https://logicalobscurity.wordpress.com/feed/) Likewise for all other blogs.
      You can choose how many items you’d like to see from each blog as well.
      Don’t forget to click on save! πŸ˜‰

      That’s that.You’ll have to do this for each blog on your blogroll. But once done, it works like a charm.

  14. Yeah I like those Hindustan times ads too…esp where the neta gives a knock on the head for touching feet & the railway crossing one πŸ˜€

    And belated Eid Mubarak!!!!!!!!

  15. GUYS its Masood’s bday today…

    So pls come and join me in giving him some bday bumps and pulling his kurta asking for the treat πŸ˜€

    he was not too well yday, I hope today he well and happy, celebrating with his family.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

