Home » Life » 28 and counting

28 and counting

…my blessings and white hair!

Yes, its my birthday today. Its that day of the year again. Last year, when I turned 27, I declared that it is the best age of my life. I was recently married, on the verge of becoming a dad, guns blazing at work etc etc. But come to think of it, not much has changed since last year so why can’t this be my best age? I am a dad now and its still not too long ago that I got married. Though work is a touch disappointing from last year. But I guess being a dad covers up for all that has not worked out over the last 1 year.

A few days back I told my wife that I need to make a list of things I want to do before I’m 30. Not sure if thats such a good idea knowing my habit of procrastination and, ofcourse, laziness. I may never come around to even make that list. My wife replied, why don’t you just go ahead and start doing all those things. Why depend on a list? I resisted the idea then but I think thats exactly what I am gonna do. No more lists for me. The wish list I made on my 15th birthday is still not complete so what are the odds that I will get to the bottom of this one?!?

There are a few things I want to do, places to visit and new stuff to learn (not to forget: new gadgets to own!) I think I’ll just take it up as and when I feel like it. What I really need to change is my health. Not been keeping too well lately. So need to get on to a more healthy lifestyle. Change my diet plan, start some workouts and physical activities.

As for today, no big plans actually. I’m off from work today and for the rest of this week not recover completely from my illness. Will spend the day with my wife and kiddo. Maybe step out for dinner. Grab a movie or something. I honestly think that once you become a parent, birthday celebrations are not for you anymore. Ofcourse a little something here and there is fine but cake, candles, gifts, decorations, parties, the works, are for our kids now.

So thank you in advance for all the wishes and good words. Its just morning and I’ve received so many bday wishes already. Thanks again and for those who haven’t wished yet, what are ya waiting for? πŸ™‚

64 thoughts on “28 and counting

  1. Happy Birthday Masood! πŸ™‚

    May all your dreams, aspirations come true!

    Hope this year is filled with joy, happiness lots of love and prosperity!

    God Bless you and your lovely family! πŸ™‚

  2. Now dont sound like one typical PAPA..
    but cake, candles, gifts, decorations, parties, the works, are for our kids now.

    ye bahana nahi chalega…

    wish you H Buddei again πŸ˜› and treat is due.. πŸ˜€

  3. Dude how m i to wish when i get no invite to a party… nor a bit of cake.. ?? huh ??

    neways now that you have announced.. it…

    Happy Bday to U
    Happy Bday to U
    Happy Bday to U Masood

    • where are the good ol days gone when people who wished bdays actually brought gifts and cakes????

      And Smi, you are the official baker of the blog samaaj….you should be saying “Here’s the cake”…instead of “Where’s the cake” !!!

  4. Hope all that you do
    Turns out happy for you
    And all that you wish
    Comes your way,
    So each hour will bring
    Every wonderful thing
    You could ask of a wonderful day

    Happy Bday to you Massood !!!

  5. but cake, candles, gifts, decorations, parties, the works, are for our kids now ….so true…from now only i think of angel’s first bday…its still 8months to go….. πŸ™‚

    • oh yes, same here. My kiddo’s bday is in Jan and we already discuss so much about how we are going to celebrate!!! I guess as new parents, our levels of excitement are higher. Maybe after a couple of years, we’ll be more seasoned and start thinking otherwise!

  6. Hey,happy birthday,Masood…so sorry for coming here late. Hope you had a great day.

    Thers still so much to look forward to…may all your wishes come true πŸ™‚

  7. Though too late to wish,please accept my heartfelt wishes..May you have great days ahead !!
    Oh well,my b’day was on 27th πŸ™‚ This 27th,I am 27 yrs old… Thatz nice,isn’t it πŸ™‚

    • Hey, Happy Bday Nimmy. Now I am late as well…so please accept belated wishes! πŸ™‚

      And thanks for the wishes πŸ™‚

  8. Birthday boy …”Many many happy returns of the day””” Belated though πŸ˜‰ !!! This is another coincidence that you share the b’date with another very dear friend of mine :p …. Gosh!!!

    Happy B’day to you once again and may God fulfill all that you desire…!

  9. Hi sirji long time,

    belated happy bday., n btw i read ur blog for last 2 hours i must say i njoyed it especially posts abt the baby, god bless him,
    tk cr

    • Hi IHM. I was writing a post and you commented. Just posted πŸ™‚

      The new phone is awesome. The battery life is a little low mostly coz I have my corporate email on my phone which means the phone is connected to the internet 24/7. So all that data exchange is affecting the battery life.

  10. Happy Birthday Masood, belated but I belive in better late than never…

    ….am sure you had a great day……Thanks to the rocking month of Ramadan here in UAE, I am still reeling under the effect…so the delays in checkin and all.

Leave a Reply

