Home » Uncategorized » Etiquettes and Hygiene

Etiquettes and Hygiene

Last night me and my wife were out for dinner. We went to this awesome Pakistani restaurant (Yes, Paki. Be it 26/11 or IPL or terrorism whatever, but in front of those magical sheekh kababs and yum mutton peshawari, aaal izz welll!). Anyways, so we placed our order and were waiting. A few minutes later, a family took the table behind us. Each table is like a private chamber with curtains all around it, real cozy, can have a wonderful, quiet, private dinner. All of a sudden, there was this intolerable stink coming from god-knows-where. I knew what it was but decided to stay put for a few minutes but it was impossible to even breath. Got up to take a look. And not surprisingly, a gentleman from that table behind us had taken his shoes off!!! Can you believe that? Stinking feet at a restaurant!!!! I immediately asked the waiter to give us another table and we moved to the other half of the hall before we could lose the desire to eat food ever again!

But I don’t really understand one thing. We were sitting a good 4-5 feet away and his stinking feet nearly killed us. Why wasn’t he aware? Did he have ear plugs up his nose? What’s the deal? Gets me so crazy to see such inconsiderate people. I mean, who takes off his shoes at a restaurant? And this is a reasonably pricey and reputed place. People of all nationalities eat there. That man almost ruined my favorite Paki restaurant for me.

A few months back, me and my brother were returning home from work. His colleague requested for a ride back. Fair enough. He hopped into the back seat and we started. Within a few seconds, a few micro-seconds actually, the entire car began to stink. It was so bloody suffocating that I immediately had the windows down. But during peak summers in Dubai, we can hardly drive a minute with the windows down or the heat can kill you. So don’t have an option. As soon as the windows came up, the stink returned. We had no clue what to do. Didn’t want to offend the dude. So me, being the perfume fanatic that I am, always have a couple of bottles in the car. Immediately opened the glove compartment, took out a bottle and told my brother (he was driving), “Wow! When did you buy this one? Lemme spray it and see.” And sprayed it on my hand. And immediately kept my hand in front of the AC blower. For the next 45 min, we survived to see another day because of that.

Let me not get into the never-ending discussion about body odour and why can’t a person figure it out himself. I just don’t understand the logic. And either ways, odour or not, if you are at work, a bit of perfume or cologne is a must. Goes without saying. Atleast for white-collar jobs. Like I have preached forever, a good fragrance is like a person’s identity and careful consideration should be taken before choosing one. But no fragrance? I don’t know what to say to that.

These two incidents are alright. I can live through it. I can understand. I am still with you. But what really really really knocks me off is when I see people visit the restroom and walk out without washing their hands!!!! I have no words. Don’t get me wrong. I am not mysophobic. And I am not obsessed with cleanliness. But basic level of hygiene and etiquettes is a must. How could someone just walk off from a restroom without washing their hands? And I see so many of them at work (some from my work place while most from outside). What are these guys thinking? Please spare us the torture. Please!!!

67 thoughts on “Etiquettes and Hygiene

  1. My husband is also perfume fanatic and we always have bunch of deo/perfume in our car ๐Ÿ™‚
    …I know its quite frustating to see ppl w/o basic etiquettes…splly this opening shoe stuff in restaurant is big torture…
    only solution which seems to work is move away from them ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yes, these are exactly the ones that put me off to!!!

    Once I accompanied a colleague to the washroom (u know girls like to go there together and chat all the way :)). Anyway, while I was washing my hands, I saw her walk out from the stall and chat with me and walk out with me…and all the while I was thinking..shhheeessshh…she didn’t wash her hands. And then we went to he cafeteria for lunch. And till that day i used to always taste a bit of her lunch. Well, but that was then…and from that day onwards…I have never never ever even had a look at her lunch ka dabba. I was ready to puke when I thought of the number of times I had taken a bite from her lunch.

    Similarly, I just don’t like long nails…some people just don’t keep them clean and there is enough dirt visible..yuuucckkk and to sit and eat with them..while they wanna dip their fingers in the curry bowl or squeeze the lemon on the common salad plate!!eekkkss

    Ok, lets cut this out here…im already pukish!

    • tch tch tch….so now I know some good comes out of going to the restroom with someone! :p I always wondered why girls always tag along and go together? I mean, do you need moral support even to take a leak?

      Thanks for stopping. I skipped my lunch after reading your comment! (kidding!). I still ate like a hog.

  3. I like things to be clean and slightly fragrant too.. So, totally with you on hygiene and body odour thing.. complete turn off.. n so is the overdoing of perfumes especially the strong ones that go into ur head..

    • Yes and out here in Dubai, you may notice how strong the perfumes are. sometimes it is difficult to spend 15-20 seconds in a life with all that perfume. Overkill.

  4. OMG !!! Stinking inside a car ???? That shld have been a nightmare driving till he got down !!!!

    And the restaurant scene too – so many ppl are oblivious to whats happening around becos of bad hygiene in them.

    I cant take strong perfumes, gives me a headache. But a mild pleasant odour goes on to show that things are clean and hygienic.

    If you smell the air freshner in a rest room, then its properly cleaned and maintained well.

    • Yes, it was. And I have it listed as an achievement in my resume (pun intended)

      I wonder how the others around him reacted. There were tables all around him. Someone must have commented. I was too far to notice or bother.

      Yes, some restrooms are nicely maintained. Out here in Dubai, there is a lot of emphasis on cleanliness and hygiene. You rarely find a dirty toilet. But the problem is people walking out that toilet without washing hands!!!!

    • I don’t think so. We’ve been eating at this place for years now. And this was the first such incident. And like I mentioned, it is a pricey and reputed place. Very well maintained. That’s why it was all the more shocking.

  5. Ewwww….
    That’s disgusting! All what you have mentioned is disgusting!!

    I have also blogged about it! The horrors are more in a ladies restroom! Esp when they walk out without flushing!! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ
    Yuck!!

  6. Yuckkkkkkkkk!!! I am soooo obsessd with hygience… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so much so that I actually keep a hand sanitizer in the bag!!! That saves me actually frm ppl who dont wash their hands after attending washrooms!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Bad odors and ppl wid bad hygine really puts me off tooo …Am sure these ppl know about their flaws I wonder why they dont do sumthing abt it…such ppl shud only be gifted with perfumes n deos with a note “You badly need to use them”

    Am still wondering how did that guy manage to sit through his meal??????? ๐Ÿ˜€ And his companions tooo ????

    Am glad u chose to blog about this cause its sumthing really really important that ppl shud care nt just fr themselves but the surrounding too!

    • Yes, I did that too for a while but I started to get paranoid. So gave it a pass and started pretending as if its all good.

      And that guy was with his family. Maybe they are used to it and did’nt find anything amiss.

      I just hope people are aware and responsible about their hygiene and for the sake of people around them.

  7. after reading all the comments, i dont think i have nething new to add. However i can say dat the feelings and experiences are mutual. Moreover i had a field job b4 so u can understand wat kind of ppl i must have come across.

  8. oh no! u screwed up my “feel” of the restaurant too!
    and how much i was looking fwd to eating there this weekend when i come over.
    and u! u wait till i find a suitable reply to the sms!!!!!! preggers ke liye aise sms nahi bhejte!!

    • hehe…well, I didn’t wanna screw it for you. But couldn’t resist sending that sms. Wanted you to be so J. Anyways, you’re gonna be home this weekend so….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. yuck yuck yuck! body odor and lack of understanding of basic hygiene is a major put off for me too.

    Hats off to you and your brother for putting up with that stink in your car for 45minutes! Now along with fresheners and perfumes I guess we should all be having a strip of Pudinhara and Eno too in our cars for any future mishaps ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. talking of hygiene,i’ve seen people scratching away their private parts as though there is no tomorrow and then shaking the same hands with others. How much more disgusting and yuckier can it get?? Eweeeeeee! And mind you,this scratching is not just attributed to men…women are as fierce at it!

    • Oh yes, scratching in public…gosh, just gross!!! And people are at it as if its the commonest thing ever. Maybe in your homes people but atleast not in public places!!!!

  11. Such is life – I do recall one lady team member at work who once said – horses sweat, men perspire and women glow,while she stank everyday without a deo.
    I could never have a firing session with her,simply because I’d have to close my cabin door.
    I didn’t risk it.

  12. I don’t know bro.. but I hate Perfumes…

    but other than that I won’t remove my shoes in public place and for sure wash my hands while coming back from restroom ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I read this yesterday and laughed like crazy. Now let me offer some sympathy.

    Men and women with body odor are just stinkos esp. the kinds who to a restaurant and removes shoes. Idiots of the highest order!

    You know what, Masood? There are times when you MUST speak. Once you tolerated that friend of your’s. Next time if he repeats it then kindly ask him to put his shoes back. I think it is better that they hear from a friend than an outsider.

    • Yes, yes! Laugh away at my plight.
      Food is very important to me. And no one messes that for me. Not even Mr. Stinky-feet. I hope he someone stumbles upon this post. How often do we write a post and hope it reaches the right person!

  14. BTW always carry a small bottle of hand sanitizer in case you are forced to shake hands with the unwashed kinds. That’s what I do. Small bottle of Germ-X zindabaad.

    • I started doing that too but realized I was getting paranoid. All kinds of what-if scenarios kept coming to mind. So decided to chuck it all and live as it its a perfect world!

    • was about to give the same link to A’s post ๐Ÿ˜€

      Masood dude!a lot of empathy coming your way! I mean really! How could you bear it? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

      Though this is a tricky issue no? hard to tell the other person ‘subtly’ about this..
      a question why is it that all such ughh worthy people are unaware and seem to have no sense of smell whatsoever?
      Have they become immune to their own smell?

      Hand sanitizers work like magic!:)

  15. ๐Ÿ™‚ Interesting post on what we sense around daily.. I don’t what will i do in such a situation..I can’t tell him either,nor can i let go,as he/she may repeat the same thing again and again.. dilemma dilemma….

  16. Goodness! Some people have no sense of hygiene, do they? I used to come across unwashed people on the London Underground – believe me it used to be difficult to breathe and coz if you did, you would most certainly throw up!

    I can never understand how they themselves never realize it. I guess they must be totally immune to the smell being in it all the time ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Ughh!

    As for people not washing hands after using the restroom – that is gross!! So many people need lessons in hygiene from the look of it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  17. people walking off from a restroom without washing their hands — I have some of these people at my workplace as well, it’s really dusgusting.

    In fact once one of my colleagues told me that he has seen aperson walking out of restroom without washing hands and putitng the same hands into sugar cube box to take out the cubes… geee.. (gud i never touched tht sugar cube box yet ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. That car ride must have been tough…I think people are immune to their own smells or else they’d know how they smell ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I remember reading a blogpost somewhere, I really feel we should have clear instructions hanging in all wash rooms – as reminders ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    One can laugh about it later but at that time it must have been really uncomfortable, and also consider the plight of those who accompanied that person in the restaurant ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Yes, it was the toughest car ride of my life. And thankfully he hasn’t asked for a lift since then.

      I think that would be a very good idea to have instructions hanging in wash rooms.

  19. Tell me about it. You won’t believe, we have a hard time keeping our staff reminded of body odour. Inspite of indirect suggestions every now and then and keeping good perfumes in the washroom, the boss still has to send an email once every six months to remind the dudes.

  20. This reminds of a time when I was being dropped off home from work. The AC in the car was on and windows rolled up. Suddenly the car was filled by this unbearable stink… no sound.. just stink. Obviously someone in the car was having a problem with their digestion. This was after a hearty office dinner, by the way. We drove on in silence, everybody wondering who the stinking culprit was, while I struggled to stay alive or at least stop myself from fainting.

    • Body odor, stinking socks, bad hygiene etc all aside – folks who fart in public is absolutely inexcusable. That’s almost deliberate!!! That’s something that one can control. I feel sorry for you. But, hey, see the bright side – you survived no?! ๐Ÿ˜€

  21. Itยกยฆs truly a great and useful piece of information. Iยกยฆm satisfied that you just shared this useful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

