Home » Ibrahim » The amazing rollercoaster ride of fatherhood

The amazing rollercoaster ride of fatherhood

I’ve never had a blogger’s block before. That is, not until now. Often wondered how could someone not have anything to post. This whole week I wanted to post but didn’t have the faintest idea on what I can write about. I do have a few thousand thoughts running up and down my mind though. And so I choose to do what every one does at such times. Take up a tag.

Btw, there haven’t been too many tags lately. Why’s that? Just curious.

Anyways, I have a few pending tags. Some of them from a different time line I think!! Taking them up now.

The Amazing, crazy, fun, rollercoaster ride of motherhood fatherhood, tagged by Smitha, a zillion months ago. I need to list 5 things I absolutely love about being a dad. I’ve done a few posts on Ibrahim but never a tag. So here goes:

1. Putting him off to sleep at night. This is easily my favorite activity of the day. One that I do almost daily. I love preparing his bedtime milk formula. Then lie down next to him till he finishes it. And the best part. He turns towards my side, cuddles in nicely and goes off to sleep. It’s the best part of my day. His face, in all its innocence while asleep, gives me peace.

2. I love the fact that being a dad has, in many ways, completed me as a person. The entire experience of parenthood has opened up channels of emotions I thought never existed. And I am a fairly emotional man. So that is something.

3. The way he tries to catch my attention when he’s hurt himself (or pretends to be hurt!) making that innocent face, patting the place where he’s hurt and says “eh eh” till I go and pick him up. I absolutely adore that. How do kids know these things about their parents?

4. And the way he follows me every where I go blabbering all kinds of gibberish. Btw, he started walking a couple of weeks back, a few days after his 1st bday actually! And now all he does is walk all around the house. From one room to another. From the hall to the kitchen. He’s all over the place. And irrespective of what he may be doing, he follows me when I leave the room to wherever I may be going. Even to the bathroom. And throws a tantrum if I don’t take him in.

5. The responsibility of making him the man he will be one day. In more than many ways, he is going to be what we mold him into, depending on the values, morals and fundas we instill in him now and with time. Till he is ready to make his own decisions. That’s a heck of a responsibility. But I like that about being a parent.

There. Done. Wasn’t that hard, was it? So why the blogger’s block then? I don’t know.

37 thoughts on “The amazing rollercoaster ride of fatherhood

    • Absolutely lovely post !!! You are right, parenthood opens up our personality, which we never thot existed in us.

      Ibbu is so cute – he follows u everywhere ?? Hugs to the little one !!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      The innocence that plays on their face, while sleeping, is the best thing ever to watch !!! Sometimes, even I take a peeky look at my daughter, while she is sleeping. Those moments are blessed for the parents !!!

      Attention seeker – tapping on the part where it hurts and calling out to you !!! Just love such moments in life.

      Loved it totally !!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Yeah and throws a tantrum at that too :p

        Big time attention seeker. Infact while playing with a ball, he doesn’t even watch the ball after throwing it but looks at us for appreciation and claps!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. aawwww…so sweeet ๐Ÿ™‚
    i loved this part the most – He turns towards my side, cuddles in nicely and goes off to sleep. Itโ€™s the best part of my day. His face, in all its innocence while asleep, gives me peace.

    Loved the post, straight from ur heart.
    love to ibrahim.

  2. Oh again over-dose of sweetness here ๐Ÿ˜‰ U do that with all Ibbu posts Masood ๐Ÿ™‚ Loved reading this one ๐Ÿ™‚
    It must be so much fun with him flg u everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚
    And the first one .. its a Kodak moment for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. oye, dont u get him the burps after bedtime milk dose? & man-na padega, i hv hardly heard of any child who is put to sleep at this age by the father!! ๐Ÿ™‚ kudos to that. n to you saying @fatherhood makes you complete.. usually moms go ga ga over it.. if u know what i mean ..
    we wish the best for u n ibbu.. always

    • Well, we need to give burps only when they are really small. But eitherways, he burps away to glory even when asleep. So no issues! ๐Ÿ˜€

      I think its true for any man who becomes a dad. But not sure if too many will admit it :p

  4. That is so sweet, Masood! I love your fatherhood posts ๐Ÿ™‚ They are sweetness unlimited ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ibbu is a big boy now ๐Ÿ™‚ Walking everywhere? Wait till he starts climbing ๐Ÿ™‚ I swear I have extra gray hair since then ๐Ÿ™‚ But then it is all worth it, isn’t it? I would not change a single thing in this ride of parenthood ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hugs ans kisses to Ibbu.

    • Next time I’ll keep a diabetes alert on such posts then, Smitha.

      And just this week, he has started climbing. And now I know why you got those extra grey hairs!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. No wonder the comments about, It’s such a lovely warm post Masood… and these memories will be tagged and relished for ever… Wonderful feeling!

    Have a great day, and kisses from my side to ur little one tonight:))

  6. sweet sweet mushy post ๐Ÿ™‚
    I luv this – he follows me when I leave the room to wherever I may be going. Even to the bathroom. And throws a tantrum if I donโ€™t take him in.
    u r one rare father who is able to express…normally gusy hide these feeling inside ๐Ÿ™‚

    Loads of luv and muhas to ibbu ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Monika. Yes, and that’s exactly the change I was talking about that came in me. I became more expressive with my emotions after being a father ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. “The responsibility of making him the man he will be one day.”

    Loved this one. I agree – To think that what my son will be 20 years from now will entirely depend on a wide variety of decisions I take today is actually scary but yet a very powerful feeling.

  8. ” more than many ways, he is going to be what we mold him into, depending on the values, morals and fundas we instill in him now and with time. Till he is ready to make his own decisions. Thatโ€™s a heck of a responsibility. But I like that about being a parent” ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes Masood,being a parent is the most rewarding yet,the most stressful job/responsibility in this world… Your post in indeed touching.. God bless your baby..

  9. That is cho chweet ๐Ÿ™‚
    And a lot of us seem to be battling writer’s block. My google reader wasn’t overflowing with posts this time round ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Awesome post

    • Yes, bloggers have been rather dull lately. Infact even on the best of days, there’s hardly 8-10 posts. That used to be 20 easily.

      Thanks Meira ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Asslamvalaikum Masood
    That was so sweet, absolutely adorable.

    yeah I do come across times when I have no idea/clue what I wanna blog about….well guess its normal ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Awesome masood…really parenthood is actually a kind of rollercoaster ride….sometimes scary….but most of the times simply lovely….

Leave a Reply

