Home » Passion » What is your best form of therapy?

What is your best form of therapy?

“you know, i have a problem. i love food. period. for me, food is not just something we eat to stay alive. it is like worship. i do it with all my heart. i love eating and enjoy eating so much that for those 15-20 mins, life is beautiful. all worries behind me. everything comes to a stand still.”

I posted this in reply to Deeps comment in one of my earlier posts. And it actually got me thinking. Almost after a week. Yeah!

It is so true. I absolutely, totally, completely love eating. I love food. And I enjoy the entire process of eating. And it doesn’t have to be exotic cuisine. Something as simple as bread with jam/cheese or cornflakes or toasts or pancakes or croissants to more bigger preparations like biryani, rotis and curries to fast-food, burgers, subs, pizzas or KFC to all kinds of sweets like muffins, cakes, pastries, gulab jamun or ice creams etc etc! I just love to eat. Very rarely complain. Almost never notice if salt is less or more. As long as it is edible, it goes in. Period.

And it calms me down. If I am stressed, I feel relaxed after a nice meal. If I am depressed, my mood brightens up at the thought ofย  a good meal or snack. If I have nothing to do, I rather spend the time munching something. Food is my best therapy.

To the extent that sometimes I don’t even need company. I could be alone. And absolutely loving it.

My dear wife knows my passion for food and makes sure that I am well fed all the time. She acknowledges my tastes and preferences. Is always ready to step out for a quick snack or meal, is always game to try new stuff or places, and almost all the time enjoys food as much as I do. I just love her for that.

Now my question to all: What is your best form of therapy? As y’all know by now, for me its food. What is it for you? What works for you?

51 thoughts on “What is your best form of therapy?

  1. why do u want ppl to open their box of pandora…
    sigh!!! what is therapy for me.. well for now just the thought of sitting in the hills of my native place acts as a therapy.. a drive, a short or long trip, a vacation or just the thought or planning of it, is therapy for me ๐Ÿ™‚ or a long walk, watching the sun rise or set, star-lit sky, or listening to the splashing waves.. i think nature has an immense therapeutic power.

    • Typical philosophical answer. Comon, give me some real juice. Walking in hills, sunrise, sunset bla bla is all fancy stuff. Give me something real. Something practical.

    • Infact 95% of all people who will comment here will tell that vacation or walking in hills or sunset etc is therapy. Even I think so myself. But what do you consider therapy when you are down n out?

      • i introspect, sometimes write, i go quiet, hibernate and talk to myself in my mind and pep myself up..
        i know it sounds philosophical again but kya karein.. thats how we are!;)
        or sometimes when i have lots in my mind and i am bugged or disturbed for some reason, i get into a cleanliness drive.. and once the house is spic n span, i take out some nice magazine or book to read or go online to read stuff.. and end up being relaxed mentally, even if that means a lil backache due to picking up 101 things from here n there n placing them where they belong to.

  2. I have diff ans here ๐Ÿ™‚
    For me its talking to my mom..I just call her and i feel ok very next moment ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. For me it is reading. I can switch off from everything and my time and space ๐Ÿ™‚ It needed not even be a great book – reading really is my therapy ๐Ÿ™‚

    Of course, reading and chocolates is a great combination – but just reading works wonders for me ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I was sure it was gonna be reading for you, seeing the number of book reviews on your blog.

      And chocolates is for me too. That was until I realized I was gonna burst one day! ๐Ÿ˜€ Haven’t eaten a choc for 5 weeks now!

  4. Chappals!! errr not to hit you. I mean I have a couple of Therapies ๐Ÿ˜› When am very very very angry, all I need to do is step into a shoe shop…sigh! the endless rows of colorful shoes somehow gives me a feeling being massaged :mrgreen: and my anger melts away. The other one is taking my camera and roaming clicking away. Nothing, I tell you nothing else makes me concentrate so much when am trying to get a snap.

    Well there are other therapies too…but I guess my So Decent ๐Ÿ™„ reputation will be ruined :mrgreen: among bloggers.

    • LOL Why was I sure I was gonna get a weird answer from you?! Btw, is it just window shopping or do you actually burn that credit card? :p

      But I was expecting photography first.

      What other therapies? Bolo bolo, tell tell…

  5. Shopping for sure.
    And eating as well… music helps comfort me, but it has to be good foot-tapping music – mostly hip-hop!
    Shopping and eating work perfectly! ๐Ÿ™‚ :mrgreen:

  6. I have to run and find a beach, the stronger the waves the better, but alas I dont get my kinda therapy here in Abu Dhabi so I stick to my next best thing, chatting with hubs
    over a coffee (he has to take me out for a nice coffee with warm melted chocolate cake)

    • haha coffee and chocolate are all-time leaders in stress busters.

      But we do have lots of beaches in Abu Dhabi? Haan waves are not that strong thanks to the breakwaters.

    • Playing cricket. Nice. I wish I had the time and company to play regularly. Though I love the game madly, can’t get enough time to play.

  7. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Gardening is the therapy for me..It relives stress and makes me feel fresh..

    “My dear wife knows my passion for food and makes sure that I am well fed all the time. She acknowledges my tastes and preferences. Is always ready to step out for a quick snack or meal, is always game to try new stuff or places, and almost all the time enjoys food as much as I do. I just love her for that.”

    Loved this..your wife is lucky to hear such good words from you…

    • That explains the pics of that beautiful garden you posted on your blog. I am sure how refreshing it may feel to spend some time there. Now me is official jealous ๐Ÿ˜€

      Wifey always gets good words from me! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. A lot of people see food as therapeutic!!! I think most people who love to eat are also great at creating gourmet meals… My husband and I are (almost boringly)obsessed with eating healthy ๐Ÿ™‚ Whole grain breads and cakes, cereals, daals; steamed or grilled veggies, and lightly flavoured food finds favour with us ๐Ÿ™‚
    As a kid I hated eating and couldn’t believe anybody could actually enjoy cooking! An aunt read recipes in Femina and I found that unbelievable ๐Ÿ™‚ I enjoy cooking now but wouldn’t call it a therapy!

    I think blogging is my therapy… or taking photographs or long drives with a camera in hand, and dancing…

    • che che..eating healthy! what a waste of food! ๐Ÿ˜€ Where’s all the fried stuff? :p

      Aha…dancing? IHM, didn’t figure you to be fond of dancing!

  9. what is this ya.. one post is of weight loss and the next is about food!!! eergh… and i am still waiting for the plan..

    • hehe…but you never answered my question. So no plan for you….atleast not just yet!

      But i am sure you gonna say something like coffee, ice cream or shopping! Or maybe even Aman!

  10. Music music,music..anyday anytime! It kind of soothes me whenever I’m low. It is and has always been the best therapy for me.

    “I love food. And I enjoy the entire process of eating. And it doesnโ€™t have to be exotic cuisine….As long as it is edible, it goes in. Period.”..precisely what my bro says too..You so remind me of him!

  11. I think I just go for a movie, or as you have said..eating alone…in fact i visit coffee bars for a sip of coffee alone..:) but Gorging on a rich dark chocolate cake is sumthing that relaxes me instantly ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Good post ๐Ÿ™‚

    plz chek my post Masood…there’s some food for you ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Yes, that’s my next best stress buster. Love to go and watch a movie. And I don’t mind going alone as well. Just for some me-me time! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Rich dark chocolate cake – Sinful ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. U know what! I LIVE and LOVE TO EAT. period. I think me and u can get together and eat up all the food available and be totally blamed for the food shortage in the world! Next of course is retail therapy…anytime anywhere…i can shop…night day, half asleep, maybe even sleepwalking…i tell u i can shop!!
    So, this is how u spot me – u see a girl with a kebab roll in one hand and a few shopping bags in the other and not a care in the world – thats me!

Leave a Reply

