Home » Food » How not to eat KFC

How not to eat KFC

One of the things I totally hate is people abusing what I totally love. Like I hate it when someone has a high powered car and drive around like sissies.

I love KFC. Period.

Over the years, I’ve seen hundreds, maybe even thousands, of people eat KFC. Some doing full justice. Others being a complete disgrace (in my opinion!). For the uninitiated, KFC stands for Kentucky Fried Chicken. So if you are a staunch vegetarian, stop now and leave. And don’t stop by this blog ever again! Yes, I am serious.

No. Just kidding. But its OK if you take it seriously.

The other day I saw a bunch of people eating KFC and one of them started eating it but kept throwing the skin/topping. Now if you’ve ever eaten KFC, you would know that the best part of the chicken is the topping. And this guy just threw it. God, what a waste. What a crime. He doesn’t deserve it.

A couple of years back, I was at KFC in Bangalore and I saw a family. And I wish I did not. This entire family was eating the chicken alright, but that’s not all. They were even eating the bones. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I mean, why would anyone want to chew the bones?! Eitherways, I decided not to look in that direction ever.

I’ve often seen people eat a piece and throwing it half eaten and moving to the next piece. I mean, whats the point of eating chicken if you don’t know how to completely finish a piece. But I can still forgive and forget these guys. But the first two are unpardonable!

My association with KFC has been since I was kid. Back then, they had this ‘All you can eat’ offer from 12pm to 4 pm on weekdays. Imagine a group of 15-16 yr olds walking into the restaurant for an ‘Allย  you can eat’. It was crazy. And we had a challenge to see who is the last man standing. I am proud to say that I once managed to eat 11 pieces. But that was not the record. Not even close. A friend once ate 18 pieces. That’s the all-time record. Haven’t heard of anyone who to eat more than that. Each one in my group used to eat anything from 8 to 12 pieces. And we took breaks during the meal to ensure we could eat as much as possible. We even stepped out of the restaurant, leaving behind someone at the table, to stop the waiter from picking our plates. Got back in 10-15 min, after some rest, or a walk, some fresh air, for round 2. And sometimes even round 3. It was insane. But it worked. And at the end of a meal, we would feel so nauseated that we would vow never to eat KFC ever again. That vow would last only till the next morning. And we were back for yet another ‘All you can eat’.

Even today, I am game for KFC any day but only a quarter of what I ate back then. One my best day, I can eat 5 pieces now. Otherwise, its only 3. But they don’t have ‘All you can eat’ anymore. So nothing lost.

And the best part. Despite eating like that, I was never over-weight. And my waist was a measly 31 inches. I did play a LOT of cricket, football, basketball, volleyball and was into athletics back then. But today, a couple of pieces and I feel I could explode!

32 thoughts on “How not to eat KFC

  1. I haven’t been to a KFC since ages ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I had a friend who loved KFCs. So sometimes for lunch we would go to a food court, neat work, and he would eat KFCs and I would have a Subway. He would eat with so much passion, that I got tempted to try one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank god I never came across a bone chewing family ๐Ÿ™‚ would have never ventured close to a KFC then ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You should go tonight then. Coz just writing this post, It’s gotten me all drool. So I cannot resist now.

      Lucky you. Thank god for small mercies. It took me a while to get over the bone chewy thing!!!

    • oh while on the bone chewing thing, i had some guests sometime back and I made chicken curry… damn u shld have seen how they chewed on the bones…. it was just powder which came out of their mouths left on the plate… i almost couldnt eat my food after that

      they claimed that its the most delicious and nutritous part of chicken the bone marrow… but totally grossed me out

      • I know a few people who do enjoy eating bones but not bones of chicken but bones of mutton. Infact the bone marrow of chicken is harmful for health and should not be eaten, so I’ve heard. On the contrary, it is advisable to eat the same of mutton. But in both the cases, no one chews the bones completely. That’s abnormal. Even in mutton, just eating the meat around the edges etc. is supposed to be good. Eitherways, I never tried it nor I ever will.

  2. Like I hate it when someone has a high powered car and drive around like sissies. – yes yes tell me abt it… i totally agree with u there

    oh well there was a time when i turned veggie but i still used to go to KFC… somehow they make the best burgers even if they are veggie… there I said it u can decide to hate me now ๐Ÿ˜‰

    18 pieces… good lord

    and aah wait those were the good old days

  3. LOL!!! I am a MakkaDonald fan, no KFC for me ๐Ÿ™‚ But these days, I can’t stand the fries.. they just seem to dull and uninteresting. Much rather go to Subway ๐Ÿ™‚ Btw, am a vegetarian so cant comment on ‘how to eat a chicken’ LOL but yeah, eating bones.. that’s gross ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

  4. Well I am not a kfc fan but still continued reading your post….infact I was just recently discussing with a friend how some people are so crazee about kfc….and how they are game for it anytime anywhere….have few friends like you I guess ๐Ÿ™‚

    Being in NZ we never got hooked on to fast food becos of halal factor(which I guess turned out to be a blessing)we never tried kfc because of the that….but saw our non muslim friends enjoyin & cravin and ravin about it….so one of the first thing we tried when we visited dubai was kfc and Mc Donald…didn’t relished any of it….even after moving here…its been nearly 3yrs….must have tried it not more than 5times…..still dont understand the craze.

    • hahaha yes. you’l find a lot of people completely hooked to KFC. Its not easy to not eat it when you know what it takes like.

      Yeah, I guess thats the problem is western countries w.r.t halal angle. my bro used to live in US and every time he came to UAE, he would spend half his time eating KFC, Pizza hut, McD, Burger King etc.

      Btw, you’re one of the rarest of the rare people who did not like KFC once they tried it. What are your kids doing in life if they dont eat KFC? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Seriously, throwing away the skin? I absolutely love the skin, I can sometimes throw away the chicken, especially the breast piece since it is very dry but never the skin.

    IN the All you can eat, my brother used to go and sit next to a dustbin and once he devours the skin, he’d eat a little chicken and throw away the dry piece in the bin ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. You don’t need to hate the 2 categories of people Bro ๐Ÿ™‚ its their way.. they may not like and like it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway I like KFC.. but not mad about it.. can you please tell me whether that all you can eat is in chennai???

    • Well their way is wrong then. I mean, who eates bones dude? ๐Ÿ˜€ And throw away the skin at KFC? Well what is left to eat then?

      I dont think I ever saw All you can eat in India. It was here in UAE since I was a kid. But not anymore! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. I wish i had a shot gun with me, wud have blown the guy who was removing the skin and eating. Its a deadly crime to do. Wat a basket case. But none the less chewing bones was the masterpiece.

    • Hahaha I agree! I saw that dude in Wahda Mall here the other day. If looks could kill, he’d be scrapping KFC skin at the doors of hell for the rest of his life!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Haha Masood this is hilarious……more so coz my husband told me a story just like urs. He too with his friends used to go binge in these outlets. Seems like once a friend ate 18 pcs of chicken and guy[sitting next to him] who gave up after 6 pcs rushed to the restroom and puked :-D.

Leave a Reply

