Home » Work » New Job, Newer challenges, Newest birthday!

New Job, Newer challenges, Newest birthday!

For the last 2 days, I have been trying to log onto WP but kept getting logged out. No clue why. Maybe WP was not too happy with the proxy settings at my new work place. But I guess like all other things in life, it came around.

So yes, back to the subject, I have changed my job. Technically, I am still working for the same company (Oracle Corporation) but in reality, it’s a different company (Sun Microsystems). Let me explain. Oracle has acquired 66 companies in the last 5 years, one of them being Sun Microsystems, which was one of its most strategic and largest acquisitions.

Oracle was primarily a software company. Our flagship product was the database. We also sold enterprise applications like ERP, CRM etc, middleware like application server, business intelligence, content management and identity management. Oracle is the clear market leader in all of the above software domains. With the acquisition of Sun, Oracle now even sells hardware (servers, storage, operating system, virtualization etc). This has been the talk of the IT world for the last 18 months. And everyone is waiting with baited breaths to see what Oracle does with Sun’s hardware business.

Well, the wait is over. Oracle is going head-on in competition with IBM, HP and Dell in this market. This is a very important time in Oracle’s history. We are venturing into a new line of business.

What’s in it for me? Well this is going to be a high-priority, high-stakes, high-visibility job. Every single eye is on Oracle to see if we fail or succeed in taking off with this $8 billion acquisition. I have joined a new team which was conceived a couple of months back. I am essentially responsible for all hardware sales in this region. But my focus area this time is going to be east and sub-Saharan Africa this time. Lots of challenges. Lots of traveling. Lots of excitement. I am thrilled.

My first assignment is to fly down to Johannesburg this week for a few round table strategy meetings. Flying out tomorrow afternoon and will be back on Saturday morning. Which means I will be spending most of my birthday tomorrow on an Emirates aircraft!

And that really sucks. I do have plans to celebrate with family tonight. May not get a chance to wish myself or do a customary birthday post tomorrow so all of you can rope in your wishes here or to my FB profile!

Cheers ๐Ÿ™‚ And thanks for the wishes, in advance! ๐Ÿ™‚

25 thoughts on “New Job, Newer challenges, Newest birthday!

  1. Wow! That sounds fun! I mean, high responsibility, but am sure high rewards as well! All the best, Masood.

    And here’s wishing you a very very happy Birthday in advance ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats masood and I m sailing in same boat these days…..going to join new job in same company which comes with high visibility and more responsibility ๐Ÿ™‚

    Advance happy bday… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Rashmi. Yes, its fantastic when such opportunities come up in the same work place. That saves are all of anxiety about new jobs etc. Plus you know a lot about the company, its work culture etc etc.

      Good luck with your new job profile ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hey Masood! All the very best in the new venture! And happy happy birthday in advance!!

    have a soooper celebration…and hugs in advance for you!

    ((((((((((((((((((bday special hugs))))))))))))))))))))

  4. The only part i cud understand is dat u r able to spend ur weekend at johanesburg. Congrats on travelleing and seeing places :P.

    Well jokes apart Godspeed and hope u crush evry competition in this new venture “All the Best”.

  5. Abhaa for a moment I thought you accidentally posted your company report on your blog ๐Ÿ˜ฅ Haa but all is well after getting to know that you are going on an African Safari at the company’s expense ๐Ÿ˜› I assure you Hitchy will be one jealous guy :mrgreen:

    All the best for the new venture and if Oracle comes out with a sane laptop please give me one at a nice discount ok? :mrgreen:

    Hey I have a friend who is an air hostess with Emirates…will ask her to sing a bday song for you in case she is on your flight ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. arre han… got to hear of the acquisition some time ago…a fren works there too ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luckie to you ๐Ÿ™‚

    &

    Happpy B’day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

