Home » Ibrahim » He said it finally

He said it finally

I realized last night that its been ages since I’ve posted something about Ibrahim. There was a time when almost all my posts were about him. I guess after his first birthday, the posts have been far and few. We will soon be celebrating his second birthday in Jan, and makes me wonder, where did all this time go? Its unbelievable how time is flying by. We will have to start looking for nurseries and even a school for him very soon.

Last night, my little kiddo, for the first time, used his name to refer to something about himself. Not that he never said his name before. He always repeated after us but never by himself. But he did so last night. Infact I put it up on FB as soon as he said it.

Here’s what happened. We were putting him off to sleep. And its like a pre-sleep ritual, he starts by saying ‘baba ko neend aayi’ and then ‘mumma ko neend aayi’ and says that for every member in the family (my parents, bros, sis, nephew, niece etc). And after he finishes, he slowly dozes off. But last night, after he completed the whole family, he surprised us and said, ‘Ibrahim ko neend aayi”!!!! Me and my wife just kept looking at each other! πŸ™‚ I thought I hadn’t heard correctly so asked again, “Kisko neend aayi?”. And he repeated again, ‘Ibrahim” πŸ™‚

Man, it felt so good. Have no words to tell how great it felt. We just kept looking at each other and smiling. I think he finally created his own identity in his mind. Btw, he still cannot pronounce his name properly. He just says, ‘raa-im” and it really sounds like ‘naa-im’.

He ‘s growing up real fast. Almost too quick for my liking. But I knew that since day one. Glad that he is in my life today. He makes it worth it. Brings a meaning to my life and the future.

You guys must be wondering why the mushy post. Well there is a reason. I am traveling to Ireland for 15 days later this week for work. And as much as I hate it, I have to spend the time away from him and my wife. Well, we gotta do what we gotta do!

I will be posting some of latest pics on FB later today. I think most of you are on my friend list. So see you there. Cheers.

27 thoughts on “He said it finally

  1. Awww thats so sweet of Ibbu…. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Lots of hugs to him. πŸ™‚ Yes, I can totally relate to that feeling of euphoria from a daddy…. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Enjoy many more firsts from Ibbu….throughout always. πŸ™‚ Its a pleasure to see the child grow and later we ask for the childhood days again… πŸ™‚

    Travel times are testing times…missing family is a terrible feeling…I know…my hubby has tales to tell on that….he feels that I am damn lucky to be home with the girls. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Yes, over the last few months, there weren’t too many firsts so maybe thats why didn’t have much to post about. I guess as they grow up, the number of firsts come down. But no reason not to celebrate!!! πŸ˜€

      Yeah, traveling is always a pain. Staying away from the wife and kids is not easy. I say that to my wife as well. She’s lucky she gets to spend so much time with Ibrahim πŸ™‚

  2. Awwww…. congrats to the proud parents πŸ™‚ I remember the times I used to maintain an Excel sheet, and jot down every little thing that my brat would say or do, alongside the date!!! I was quite crazy then πŸ™‚ But yes, like you say, children add so much meaning to life. I would have never believed that was possible, until I had mine πŸ™‚
    Btw, will you be travelling via London any time? Let me know if you are πŸ™‚

    • Yes, we’ve tried to maintain a record as well. Actually my wife does! πŸ™‚ She’s made notes of the milestones. Its amazing going thru them now. Seems like yesterday.

      I will infact be traveling via Heathrow but don’t think I will be allowed to step out into the city. Don’t have EU visa but just the Irish visa. And don’t have time to apply for UK transit visa. I wanted to stopover in London for a couple of days but maybe next time.

    • Yeah, and I realized a while back that this is the only diary I have. So I have no other way to relive these fantastic memories than to read my own blog. Been off the blogging charts lately but hopefully wanna return to fulltime blogging and blog hoping very soon! πŸ™‚

  3. Awww! That is certainly a record-worthy moment! It feels wonderful and sad at the same time, doesn’t it. Your little baby is growup , and growing up too soon πŸ™‚ Hugs and kissies to Ibrahim ! Waiting to see the pics!

  4. I can totally relate to ur feeling as it happen to me so many times these days when angel is learning new word every week/15days..and keep repeating tht for whole week πŸ™‚
    Gosh there are so much to write down abt her and i m just not getting time 😦
    Lots of muhas and hugs to sweet ibbu πŸ™‚

    • Little Naa-im now has heard a nice little ‘maa ki’ word and keeps repeating it..!!! But in the end, it just sounds like monkey! So we’re all cool πŸ˜‰

    • haha family man or not, he’s a brat no doubt. the other day, he fell on his face, cried for a few seconds and then off he went, lip bleeding et al… boys will be boys!!!

Leave a Reply

