My sins against gender stereotypes

How could a tag like this ever come into existence? Well, when a particular, Ms. IHM, is around, why not!

So after getting tagged by Smitha, Deeps, Monika and Hitchy – I have decided to take it up before more people end up wasting their tags on me! 😀

Here goes:

1. I enjoy watching chick flicks and romantic movies. So doesn’t matter if it is ‘Ten things I hate about you’, ‘She’s all that’, ’27 dresses’ or ‘p.s. I love you’.

2. I don’t like reading books except by select writers. A lot of women out there have said they love to read. Honestly I did not know reading has anything to do with gender. But if it is, well, then I don’t read.

3. I like to try my hand at cooking whenever I can. Earlier it was with my mother. Now its with the wife.

4. I am extremely finicky about personal hygiene and cleanliness.

5. I like things in order, organized and uncluttered. My desk is always clean.

6. I love going out for shopping…well most of the time! 😀 And enjoy shopping for female jewelery, footwear, accessories or cosmetics. Ofcourse not for myself but for my wife, mother etc.

7. Sometimes I wish I could cry or express my emotions more openly.

8. I don’t mind wearing bright or pastel colored shirts or a t-shirt that says, ‘I love my wife’.

9. I have no problem whatsoever in changing my kiddo’s diaper, dressing him up, preparing his milk formula, feeding him his supper or putting him off to sleep.

10. I think its OK if I take time to get ready. But as much as I try, it does not take more than 10-15 minutes! A reasonable amount of that time goes in deciding what to wear.

And one extra point just to keep you all interested

11. I love gossip!

But I still enjoy playing and watching sports more than anything else as well as watching action movies and playing video games. I love cars, bikes and driving…really fast, and am a gadget freak, and totally enjoy traveling. I absolutely relish eating and enjoy the company of foodies. And when in a fight, I know a thing or two about throwing punches and can use all of my 6’1″ frame and strength to intimidate an enemy.

There. Done. Now about tagging 12 bloggers, well that’s gonna be tough. Coz most of the bloggers I know have done this or have been tagged. But if I can get tagged 4 times, so can others.

I tag Rakesh, Maria, Ajaz, Dew, Tara, Nimmy, Rashmi, Nancy, Gyanban, Vims, Mandira, Chandni and Mahmud.

106 thoughts on “My sins against gender stereotypes

  1. 1 Oh, really !!! So romantic…you love 27 dresses ??? My God… 😉

    2 Ok, understand that…

    3 Good for the women….

    4 Cleanliness freak – thats me !!! 🙂

    5 WOW – Thats interesting…

    6 Next time I need something, I mailing u my list…come on, Masood, its to shop !!! 😉

    7 Go on…who’s stopping ???? Actually u feel a lot better after crying…

    8 Cho chweet….The romantic again !!!

    9 The responsible and proud father – Kudos to you.

    10 So, wife gives u enuf time to get ready, na ???

    11 Gossip ???? I like that…

    That was one great list and loved reading it Masood…now waiting for the others to do…

    Have commented on a similar post in almost 10 places so far…everyone is hooked !!!

    1. Sheesh, just realized I missed replying to your comment. It was the biggest comment and assumed I’ve replied to it…

      I don’t love 27 dresses..I just said I like those kind of movies every now and then for a change! 😉

      Thanks Uma 🙂

    1. Haha…well there was an actual study that concluded that men gossip more than women. I am not sure how true that is. But one thing is correct – men do gossip a lot. More than women or less is debatable.

        1. Well frankly speaking, I don’t gossip either. I just like to listen to gossip. Specially at work, its always beneficial to be updated on all the inside scoop.

  2. That was fun! And the last point was the best! I think all of us love gossip 🙂 Gossiping is such a stress buster isn’t it 🙂

    Loved your take on the tag, Masood 🙂

  3. My first time here…first thing…I loved your template…its quite different 🙂

    For the sinner part..the last point summed it all perfectly! 😀 😀

  4. Watching chick flicks and romantic movies; shopping for female jewelery, footwear, etc; wearing bright or pastel colored shirts; being a good dad – Heh heh Masood these are sins against gender stereotypes!!

    But a t-shirt that says, ‘I love my wife’ is aww-some 🙂 And it’s a blasphemy against gender stereotypes 😯

    I loved this line the best, “A reasonable amount of that time goes in deciding what to wear.” Ha ha 😆 I think at times I do that too… 🙂

    You like gossip! 😯 I think I better add to my list of sins – I dislike gossip. :mrgreen:

    1. Aha. There you are! The architect behind all bloggers going nuts today doing this tag. It seriously spread like a rage. Good one, IHM. Hats off to you 🙂

      Hahahaha and trust me, it does not go down too well with the boys !!!

      About gossip, well its more like entertainment than anything else. Specially at work 😀

  5. Looks like this tag has taken this part of the blog world by storm, simply everybody is doing it 😮
    Enjoyed reading ur tag 😀
    And thanks for tagging me….I’ll surely do it :-)!!!!

    1. Yes, its taken the blog world by storm…no..by a hurricane!

      You have to do it. And preferably today. Coz everyone’s doing it today.

      Doesn’t take too long. About half an hour. Go for it, Nancy! 🙂

  6. This tag is going places!!! I’ve been tagged twice now. Wonder how many times will I be tagged before I actually get around doing it. 😛

    1. Thanks Shilpa. Yes, too many males haven’t taken it up yet. But I guess they eventually will. Its a fun tag.

      Thanks for dropping by.

  7. Awww.. your wife is one lucky woman 🙂
    Cleanliness, organized, love shopping, gossip, taking care of kids and ready to wear “I love my wife” t-shirt !! How did she get this all in one package:-) How many “solah somvaar” did she do ?
    Jokes apart, I have been reading this tag on lot of blogs by females but yours is the first one I read from a male perspective !! So liked reading new things.

    1. hehe…well not sure if my wife thinks that way! 😉

      yeah, most males are a little scared to take it up. Well I think most have done it now…

      Thanks for dropping by. Keep visiting.

  8. Just to add to the masala… dont you think Masood we guys make better cooks !!!!!!!!! 😛 😛

    I know I might be killed for this… but still…

  9. You come under the category of Adorable Sinner…sniff sniff a T shirt saying I love my wife…wail……… mine would scratch out that Wife part even if I forced him to wear it me thinks 😡

    Hey can I send my husband along with you hell Oh Sinner? you can teach him at least how to be a little patient while I shop for grocery at least. He wants a gourmet dish sans the shopping for ingredients part 😯

    Loved your entire list especially the finicky for hygiene part . I think I have OCD regarding cleanliness 😥

    1. LOL
      Yes, the t-shirt thing doesn’t go down too well with many guys 😉

      Send him along and we will have a boy’s night out. After all, regardless of a few sins, I am still a normal man haha

    1. Got busy with stuff. And normally I don’t post, blog-hop or reply to comments on weekends. And hence the delay in replying 🙂

  10. you love gossip?really? and u take time to get ready? i do it in like 5 mins. flat.. (unless i am wearing a sari…) and i read allll the time… 🙂

    thanks for tagging me…will do it soon…

    1. hehe..yes a little bit of gossip here and there is my kind of stuff. I am not a powerhouse of gossip so no need to be scared of me! 😀

  11. Loved reading your list of sins, Masood! Point no 8..your wifey is one lucky girl!! God bless you two 🙂

    Hi5 from a fellow sinner 😀

    1. Yes, men really love gossip and research proves that too. But I don’t know why its not a known fact yet :p

      Eitherways, in my case, its not like I totally love gossip. I just enjoy it and like to be in drift with all whats been said and heard around 😉

  12. i could take any point u’ve said there, but gossip??!?!?! you like gossip?? :O
    oh my!!! hehehe

    its nice to know that at least some guys like shoppin for girls 😀

    nice blog 🙂

    1. hehe..gosh, i’ve had to explain myself so many times on that point. Its not like I cant live without gossip. just that I like to be in touch with whats happening around.

      I really enjoy shopping for my wife..specially when it is a surprise gift 🙂

  13. So you DID explain it all in the end, that as much as you Enjoy doing things what women prefer, ur still the same hard hitting, video gaming, food loving Guy 😉

  14. Goodness!!!
    Guys like you exist!!
    Do you take classes?? For say….. certain hapless men who weren’t ‘allowed’ to do any of the above and aren’t sure if they should do it now (lest they ruin their image!!)

    We need more men like you around 🙂

    1. LOL hehehe
      And guess what? I personally know atleast a handful of guys who not only do all this but much much more.
      But what you say is true. A lot of men can feel it but don’t know if they should do it. And our image is very important to us 😀 So even if we do a few things, we make sure we do all the other ‘manly’ stuff to make sure the balance is maintained.
      Just like that small paragraph in the end on my post as well 😉

Leave a comment